
	 No Continuing Education (CE) is required for the first renewal of a license.
	 Do not submit proof of CE unless specifically requested by the Department.
	 Section 11 of the Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act (225 ILCS 20/11) and Section 1470.95 of 

the Administrative Rules provide additional detailed information on CE requirements. The Act and the Rules 
are available at www.idfpr.com.
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	American Association for Marriage and Family 
Therapy or its affiliates;

	Employers licensed under the Hospital Licensing Act 
[210 ILCS 85];

	 Illinois Licensed Social Work Continuing Education 
Sponsors [225 ILCS 20] (68 Ill. Adm. Code 1470.95); 

	 Illinois Licensed Professional Counseling Continuing 
Education Sponsors [225 ILCS 107] (68 Ill. Adm. 
Code 1375.220);

	 Illinois Licensed Clinical Psychologist Continuing 
Education Sponsors [225 ILCS 15] (68 Ill. Adm. 
Code 1400.85); or

	Any other regionally accredited school, college or 
university, community college or State agency that 
provides CE in a form and manner consistent with 
this Section.

  Approved Continuing Education 
1.	 CE credit shall be earned for verified attendance at or 

participation in a course which is offered or sponsored 
by an approved continuing education sponsor except 
for those activities provided in numbers 2, 3, 4, and 
5 below.

2.	 CE credit may be earned through postgraduate 
training programs (e.g., extern, residency, or 
fellowship programs) or completion of social work 
related courses which are a part of the curriculum 
of a college or university.

3.	 CE credit may be earned for verified teaching in a 
college, university or graduate school of social work 
approved in accordance with Section 1470.30 and/
or as an instructor of continuing education programs 
given by approved sponsors. Credit will be applied 
at the rate of 1.5 hours for every clock hour taught 
and only for the first presentation of the program 
(i.e., credit shall not be allowed for repetitious 
presentations).

4.	 CE credit may be earned for completion of a self-
study course that is offered by an approved sponsor 
who meets the requirements in Section 1470.95(c).  
Each self-study course shall include an examination.

5.	 CE credit may be earned for authoring papers, 
publications or books and for preparing presentations 
and exhibits. The preparation of each published paper, 

  Continuing Education (C.E.) Hour
  Requirements
Every licensee who applies for renewal of a license as 
a social worker or clinical social worker shall complete 
30 hours of continuing education (CE) relevant to the 
practice of social work or clinical social work. At least 
3 of the 30 hours must include content related to 
the ethical practice of social work. At least 3 of the 
30 hours must include content related to cultural 
competence in the practice of social work.

A prerenewal period is 24 months preceding November 
30 in the year of the renewal.

	CE requirements shall be the same for licensed social 
workers and clinical social workers.

	One CE hour shall equal one clock hour.

	Courses that are part of the curriculum of a university, 
college, or other educational institution shall be 
allotted CE credit at the rate of 15 CE hours for each 
semester hour, or 10 CE hours for each quarter hour 
of school credit awarded.

	A renewal applicant shall not be required to comply 
with CE requirements for the first renewal of an Illinois 
license.

	Social workers or clinical social workers licensed in 
Illinois but residing in other states shall comply with 
the CE requirements set forth in this Section.

  Approved Continuing Education Sponsors
  and Programs
CE credit may be earned for verified attendance at 
or participation in any program given by one of the 
following sponsors:

	The National Association of Social Workers (NASW) 
and its affiliates;

	The Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) and 
its affiliates; 

BEGINNING WITH 2021 RENEWAL the required 
continuing education hours shall include at least 
one hour of sexual harassment prevention training.



book chapter or presentation dealing with social 
work or clinical social work may be claimed as 5 
hours of credit per renewal period.  A presentation 
must be before a professional audience.  Five credit 
hours may be claimed for only the first time the 
information is published or presented.

  Continuing Education Earned in Other
  Jurisdictions
If a licensee has earned CE hours in another state not given 
by an Illinois approved sponsor for which the licensee 
will be claiming credit toward full compliance in Illinois, 
the applicant shall submit an individual program approval 
request form, along with a $25 processing fee, within 
90 days prior to expiration of the license.  The Board 
shall review and recommend approval or disapproval of 
the program. Applicants may seek individual program 
approval prior to the participation in the program.

If a licensee fails to submit an out of state CE approval 
form within the required time frame, late approval may 
be obtained by submitting the approval request form with 
the $25 processing fee plus a $10 per hour late fee not 
to exceed $150. The Board shall review and recommend 
approval or disapproval of the program.

  Certification of Compliance with 
  Continuing Education Requirements

1)	 Each renewal applicant shall certify, on the 
renewal application, to full compliance with the 
CE requirements.

2)	 The Department may require additional 
evidence demonstrating compliance with the CE   
requirements.  It is the responsibility of each renewal 
applicant to retain or otherwise produce evidence 
of such compliance.

  Procedures for Requesting a Waiver of the
  Continuing Education Requirement
A request for a waiver of the Continuing Education 
requirement must be based upon extreme hardship as 
described below:

	 A)	 Full-time service in the armed forces of 
the U.S. during a substantial part of the 
prerenewal period;

	 B)	 An incapacitating illness documented by a 
statement from a currently licensed physician;

	 C)	 A physical inability to travel to the sites 
of approved programs documented by a 
currently licensed physician; or

	 D)	 Any other similar extenuating circumstances.
	     Requests for a waiver of the Continuing 	
	     Education requirement must be submitted 	
	     prior to the expiration date of your current 	
	     license. To request a CE waiver, you must 	
	     submit the following to the Department:

		  -	Completed renewal application along with the 
$60 renewal fee (fees are non-refundable); and

		  - A statement setting forth the facts upon which 
the request for a waiver is based; and

		  -	A copy of military papers showing active duty, 
if the request is based upon full-time service in 
the armed forces of the U.S.; or

		  -	A signed statement from your attending physician 
verifying the illness, length of treatment and 
diagnosis, if the request is based upon an 
incapacitating illness or a physical inability to 
travel to the sites of approved programs.

  How the Department Processes Your
  Continuing Education Waiver Request if 
  You Have Not Completed Your Continuing
  Education Requirements
The Department of Financial and Professional Regulation 
makes every effort to process your renewal in a timely 
fashion. The renewal process is delayed when all of the 
questions on the application are not answered, when 
supporting documentation is missing, the fee is incorrect 
or missing, or your check is not signed.

If the Department determines your application, waiver 
request, and other documentation are in proper order, 
the license will be renewed.

THE RENEWAL OF YOUR LICENSE AT THIS 
TIME SHOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED AS AN 
INDICATION THAT YOUR WAIVER REQUEST 
HAS BEEN APPROVED.

The Board will review your waiver request and then 
make a recommendation to the Director.  

If your request for waiver is approved, you will be 
notified in writing.

If your request for waiver is denied, you will receive 
written notification of the denial and your license will 
be placed into a nondisciplinary non-renewed status.

A waiver request will not be granted if you are no longer 
practicing your profession.
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NOTE:	 For licensees requesting a CE waiver: the renewal form may be obtained online but must be submitted by mail 
with the renewal fee and specified documentation before the expiration date of the license.
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