
15 Hour Leasing Agent Pre-License Course 
Requirements for licensure as an Illinois Leasing Agent 

 
Every applicant for licensure as a leasing agent must meet the 
following qualifications: 
1. Be at least 18 years of age; 
2. be of good moral character; 
3. successfully complete a 4-year course of study in a high school 

or secondary school or an equivalent course of study approved 
by the Illinois State Board of Education; 

4. personally, take and pass a written examination and provide 
evidence of having completed 15 hours of instruction approved 
by the Department.  

 

    
The 15 Hour course of study shall, among other topics, cover 
the following; 

 

 fair housing issues relating to residential leasing;  
 advertising and marketing issues;  
 leases, applications, and 
 credit reports;  
 owner-tenant relationships  
 owner-tenant laws;  
 the handling of funds;  
 environmental issues relating to residential real property; 


