CONTINUING EDUCATION FACT SHEET
NAIL TECHNOLOGY TEACHER

® Do not submit proof of continuing education (CE) unless specifically requested by the Department.

® You need not comply with CE if this is your first renewal.

® You may access the Illinois Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding and Nail Technology Act
and Administrative Rules on our Web site @ www.idfpr.com, and then select " Division of Professional

Regulation."”

Continuing Education (CE) Hour
Requirements

In order to renew a license, a licensee shall be required
to complete 20 hours of continuing education between
November 1 and October 31 of the prerenewal period.

® CE must be obtained through a licensed CE sponsor.

® Nailtechnology teachers licensed in 1llinois but residing
in other states shall comply with the CE requirements
set forth in Section 1175.1210 f) of the Rules.

® A list of approved CE Sponsors is available at our
Web site (@ www.jdfpr.com, "Division of Professional
Regulation,” under specific profession name; i.e., Nail
Technology Teacher.

Activities For Which CE Credit
May Be Earned

Only classes that directly relate to a licensee's ability
to practice under the scope of his/her license will be
accepted by the Department as meeting that licensee's
continuing education requirement in accordance with
Section 1175.1200 c) of the Rules. For example, a class
in chemical processing of the hair may be acceptable for
a cosmetology teacher but not for an esthetics teacher,
because the esthetics teacher cannot work on a client's hair.

Classes in medical procedures and diagnosis are
not acceptable for cosmetologists, estheticians, nail
technicians, or corresponding teachers because all of these
professions are prohibited from making medical diagnosis
or providing medical treatment; i.e., reflexology, botox
injections, acne treatment, or laser hair removal.

Ten of the required 20 hours of continuing education
shall be in the following arcas:

A. Teaching methodology;

B. Education psychology;

C. Classroom management; or

D. Other teaching related courses.
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The following subject areas have been approved for
the remaining 10 hours:

A. Advanced product chemistry and chemical interaction
The use of machines and implements

Sanitary procedures

. Hazardous chemicals

Exposure minimization

mH o 0w

Updated use of implements as they relate to applicable
services under the Act

Q

. Advancedknowledge of the anatomy of the skin, scalp,
hair and/or nails

H. Human relations/communication skills

e

Management and marketing

CE Self-Study Courses

Up to one-half of the total CE hours required for renewal
may be earned through self-study courses. A CE sponsor
who is licensed with the Department of Financial and
Professional Regulation must provide the courses.

CE Earned in Other Jurisdictions

Ifalicensee has earned CE hours in another state not given
by an Illinois approved sponsor for which the licensee
will be claiming credit toward full compliance in Illinois,
the applicant shall submit an Cut-of-State Continuing
Education Form, along with a $10 processing fee, within
90 days prior to expiration of the license. The Board
shall review and recommend approval or disapproval of
the program. Applicants may seek individual program
approval prior to the participation in the program.

To obtain an application access our Web site, www.idfpr.
com, and select "Division of Professional Regulation.”
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Certification of Compliance with
Continuing Education Requirements

1)  Eachrenewal applicant shall certify, on the rencwal
application, to full compliance with the CE
requirements.

2) The Department may require additional evidence
demonstrating compliance withthe CE requirements.
It is the responsibility of each renewal applicant
10 Tetan or otherwise produce cvidence of such
compliance.

Procedures for Requesting a Waiver of the
Continuing Education Requirement

If you have not completed the CE requirement, you MUST
either place your license on inactive status or submit a
completedrenewal application, along with the renewal fee
and a request for waiver of the CE requirement. Requests
for a waiver of the CE requirement must be submitted
prior to the expiration date of your current license, along
with the renewal fee. The request for a waiver MUST be
based on one of the following reasons:

A) Full-time service in the armed forces of the U.S.
during a substantial part of the prerenewal period.
In addition to the written waiver request, you must
also submit verification of the start and end date of
the active duty.

B) Anincapacitating illness. In addition to the written
waiver request, you must also submit a doctor's
statement that includes the diagnosis and the start
and end date of the treatment.

C) Substantial financial hardship. In addition to the
written waiver request, you must submit a copy of
your most recently filed federal tax return.

D) Absence of opportunities for CE. (This means there
were no CE programs offered in the area in which
youreside.) Inaddition to the written waiver request,
you must document your attempts to obtain CE in
your area. (You may obtain up to one-half of your
hours through self-study.)

How the Department Processes Your
Continuing Education Waiver Request if
You Have Not Completed Your Continuing
Education Requirements

The Department of Financial and Professional Regulation,
Division of Professional Regulation makes every
effort to process your renewal in a timely fashion. The
renewal process is delayed when all of the questions
on the application are not answered, when supporting
documentation is missing, the fee is incorrect or missing,
or your check is not signed.

If the Department determines your application, waiver
request, and other documentation are in proper order, a
new license will be issued.

The issuance of your license at this time does
not mean your request has been approved. It
simply enables you to continue to practice until
a final determination has been made regarding
the request.

The Board will review your waiver request and then make
a recommendation to the Director.

If your request for waiver is approved, you will be notified
in writing,

If your request for waiver is denied, you will receive
written notification of the denial and your license will be
placed into a nondisciplinary non-renewed status.

DFPR WEB SITE @ www.idfpr.com

Visit the Department’s Web site. A number of services
are available on the Web. By selecting the "Division of
Professional Regulation,” you may confirm a license,
submit a complaint, download application packets, and
send e-mails to DFPR.

eligible to renew on the Internet.

NOTE: If you are requesting a waiver of the continuing education requirement, you are not
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