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If you hold a non-renewed controlled substances registration, you must 
reinstate that registration.  Do not apply for a new registration.

Every person who prescribes and/or stores or dispenses any controlled substances within the State of Illinois 
must obtain a license issued by the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation in accordance with 
the Illinois Controlled Substances Act.

A separate controlled substances registration is required for each place of professional practice or business where 
controlled substances are stored or dispensed.

1. If you do not properly complete Parts I through VII (front and back) of the application, the application 
will be returned to you and licensure will be delayed.

2. It is mandatory that the permanent mailing address and/or business address be a street address. P.O. boxes 
are not acceptable. Your Controlled Substances registration must be issued to a street address. 

3. If your professional application is pending, write "pending" in Part IV. A controlled substances registration 
will not be issued until your professional license has been issued. A controlled substances registration will 
not be issued to individuals holding a temporary license.

4. You must circle each drug schedule for which you are applying in Part III.

5. You must complete and submit the PHQ Form. Your application will not be processed without completion 
of this form.

6. Submit the $5 application fee. Make check or money order payable to the Department of Financial and 
Professional Regulation (IDFPR). The fee is non-refundable. Mail the completed application and fee to:

Department of Financial and Professional Regulation
ATTN: Division of Professional Regulation

P.O. Box 7007
Springfi eld, Illinois 62791

A State controlled substances registration is a prerequisite for Federal controlled substances registration. The 
address on your Illinois controlled substances registration must be exactly the same address as your Federal 
registration. For information concerning Federal registration, you must contact:

Drug Enforcement Administration
230 South Dearborn, Suite 1200

Chicago, Illinois 60604
Telephone: 312/353-7875

Web site: www.deadiversion.usdoj.gov

INSTRUCTIONS FOR CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES REGISTRATION
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****READ AND FOLLOW INSTRUCTIONS CAREFULLY****

Additional application forms can be downloaded from the IDFPR Web site at www.idfpr.illinois.gov. 



319 Dentist 346 Optometrist  
316 Podiatrist 390 Veterinarian
336 Physician    377 APRN-FPA

 Work (          )    

 Home (         )

PART  I:  Application Category Information

Registration

2. PROFESSION CODE - Check applicable box1. PROFESSION  NAME 3. LICENSURE  METHOD

 Controlled Substances  $5

4. FEE

Disclosure of your U.S. social security number, if you have one, is mandatory, in accordance with 5 Illinois Compiled 
Statutes 100/10-65 to obtain a license. The social security number may be provided to the Illinois Department of 
Public Aid to identify persons who are more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order, or 
to the Illinois Department of Revenue to identify persons who have failed to fi le a tax return, pay tax, penalty or 
interest shown in a fi led return, or to pay any fi nal assessment or tax penalty or interest, as required by any tax 
Act administered by the Illinois Department of Revenue, or to other entities for verifi cation of identifi cation.

APPLICATION  FOR  STATE
CONTROLLED  SUBSTANCES  REGISTRATION

PART  II:  Applicant Identifying Information
1. NAME LAST  FIRST  MIDDLE 2. TITLE (e.g., M.D., O.D., etc.)

4. PERMANENT MAILING ADDRESS CITY STATE/COUNTRY ZIP  CODE COUNTY

IL486-0500  

5. NAME OF BUSINESS AND LOCATION (STREET / CITY / STATE / ZIP CODE) WHERE DRUGS ARE STORED AND CONTROLLED   
 SUBSTANCES REGISTRATION IS TO BE ISSUED  

PART  IV:  Professional  Activity

 Area Code 

 Area Code 

9. TELEPHONE NUMBER WHERE YOU MAY BE REACHED DURING THE DAY

8. MAIDEN  OR  GIVEN  SURNAME, OR ANY NAME(S) 

3. SSN  OR  ITIN
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 FAX (          )    

 FAX (         )
 Area Code 

 Area Code 

IMPORTANT NOTICE:  Completion of this form is required by 720 ILCS 570/1 et. seq. (Illinois 
Compiled Statutes). Disclosure of information is mandatory. Furnishing by applicant of false or 
fraudulent information or failure to provide pertinent information constitutes grounds for denying 
such application or revoking any registration issued pursuant to such application.

FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

 +

PART  III:  Drug Schedule

Dentist         019 - ___________________

Optometrist       046 - ___________________

Physician        036 - ___________________

Podiatrist    016 - ___________________

Veterinarian   090 - ___________________

APN-FP    277 - ___________________

Practitioner--Check and complete one of the following:
Professional License Number

II             III           IV         V

Circle the schedules for which you are applying:

 

          I will not be storing or dispensing controlled  
             substances, including samples.

7. If you will not be storing or dispensing controlled   
 substances, check the box below. Your license will   
be issued to your permanent mailing address.

6. EMAIL ADDRESS (REQUIRED)



1. In accordance with 5 Illinois Compiled Statutes 100/10-65(c), applications for renewal of a license or a new license shall include the applicant's 
Social Security number, and the licensee shall certify, under penalty of perjury, that he or she is not more than 30 days delinquent in complying 
with a child support order.  Failure to certify shall result in disciplinary action, and making a false statement may subject the licensee to 
contempt of court.

 Are you more than 30 days delinquent in complying with a child support order?   Yes No
 (NOTE:  If you are not subject to a child support order, answer "no.") 

1. Have you been convicted of or pled guilty or nolo contendere to any criminal off ense in any state or in federal court? Please 
do not give details on minor traffi  c charges, but do include information relating to Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) charges. 
If yes, attach a personal statement describing the circumstances of the conviction and certifi ed copies of court records of 
your conviction including the nature of the off ense, date of discharge, and a statement from the probation or parole offi  ce.  
In general, a criminal conviction by itself does not usually result in denial of licensure.

2. Have you been convicted of a felony? In general, a felony conviction by itself does not usually result in denial of licensure.

3. If yes, have you been issued a Certifi cate of Relief from Disabilities by the Prisoner Review Board? If yes, attach a copy 
of the certifi cate.

4. Do you now have any disease or condition that presently limits your ability to perform the essential functions of your pro-
fession, including any disease or condition generally regarded as chronic by the medical community, i.e., (1) mental or 
emotional disease or condition; (2) alcohol or other substance abuse; (3) physical disease or condition? If yes, attach a 
detailed statement, including an explanation whether or not you are currently under treatment.

5. Have you been denied a professional license or permit, or privilege of taking an examination, or had a professional license 
or permit disciplined in any way by any licensing authority in Illinois or elsewhere? If yes, attach a detailed explanation.

6. Have you ever been discharged other than honorably from the armed service or from a city, county, state or federal position? 
If yes, attach a detailed explanation.

7. Has your authority to prescribe or dispense controlled substances granted by either the U.S. Drug Enforcement Admin-
istration (DEA) or any state/territory of the U.S. (including Illinois) ever been voluntarily or involuntarily reduced, limited, 
placed on probation, relinquished, denied, revoked or suspended or otherwise disciplined? You must answer yes if any of 
the above actions are currently pending or if you have withdrawn or failed to proceed with an application for any controlled 
substances license. If yes, attach a separate sheet with complete and accurate explanation and certifi ed documentation 
from the appropriate entity regarding the action.

PART  V: Personal History Information (This part must be completed by all Applicants) YES NO

Application must be completed in its entirety.
If not completed, it will be returned to the address noted on front of application.

IL486-0500  

I hereby apply for an Illinois Controlled Substances Registration in accordance with the Illinois Controlled Sub-
stances Act.  I certify that I have answered all questions on this application to the best of my knowledge.

Signature of ApplicantDate of Application
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N
A

M
E (Last, First, M

I):    ___________________________________________   SSN
 O

R
 ITIN

:  _____________________  Profession:  ____________________

PART  VII: Certifying  Statement

PART  VI:  Child Support Information (every applicant is required by law to respond to the following questions)

I UNDERSTAND THAT FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE.  My signature above authorizes the Department of Financial and Professional 
Regulation to reduce the amount of this check if the amount submitted is not correct.  I understand this will be done only if the amount 
submitted is greater than the required fee hereunder, but in no event shall such reduction be made in an amount greater than $50.



IMPORTANT  NOTICE:  Completion of 
this form is necessary to accomplish the 
requirements outlined in 20 ILCS 2105 of 
the Civil Administrative Code. Disclosure of 
this information is REQUIRED. 

HEALTH CARE WORKERS
ADDITIONAL PERSONAL HISTORY 

QUESTIONS

SUPPORTING  DOCUMENT

PHQ
1. NAME LAST FIRST MIDDLE

2. ADDRESS STREET,    CITY,    STATE,    ZIP  CODE

3. PROFESSIONAL  LICENSE  NUMBER (if any)

__ __ __  -  __ __ __ __ __ __

4. SOCIAL  SECURITY  NUMBER  OR  ITIN
__ __ __ - __ __ - __ __ __ __

Certifi cation Statement

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this Form and all supporting documents and/or information 
submitted by me in connection therewith, and to the best of my knowledge, they are true, correct, and complete.

In order for your application to be evaluated, you must respond to each of the following questions:
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Signature of Applicant           Email      Date
Page 1of 3

If YES to any of the above, attach a personal statement describing the circumstances of the charge or conviction and 
a certifi ed copy of the court records regarding your charge or conviction, including the nature of the off ense and date of 
discharge, if applicable, as well as a statement from the probation or parole offi  ce.

Are you required, as part of a criminal sentence, to register under the Sex Off ender Registration Act? *3)

Are you currently charged with or have you been convicted of a criminal battery against any patient in the 
course of patient care or treatment, including any off ense based on sexual conduct or sexual penetration?  

2)

Yes NoAre you currently charged with or have you been convicted of a criminal act that requires registration 
under the Sex Off ender Registration Act? *

1)

Are you currently charged with or have you been convicted of a forcible felony? *4)

Pursuant to 20 ILCS 2105-165(a), the Department requires the following professionals to disclose information regarding charges or 
convictions pertaining to certain off enses. Please check applicable profession.

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse
Acupuncturist

Audiologist

Dental Hygienist

Sex Off ender Evaluator

Dentist

Athletic Trainer

Genetic Counselor

Marriage and Family Therapist

Sex Off ender Associate

Marriage and Family Therapist Assoc.

Licensed Practical Nurse

Psychologist, Clinical (LCP)

Professional Counselor, Clinical 
(LCPC)

Registered Nurse

Sex Off ender Treatment Provider

Respiratory Care Practitioner

Podiatrist

Registered Surgical Assistant
Registered Surgical Technologist

Prosthetist

Any other license issued by the Department under the Acts listed in this Section and the Controlled Substances Act [740 ILCS 40], except for pharmacy 
technicians, issued to a person subject to the Code and this Part.

Advanced Practice Registered 
Nurse - Full Practice Authority 

Behavior Analyst
Behavior Analyst Assistant 

Music Therapist

Certifi ed Midwife
Chiropractic Physicians (D.C.)

Professional Counselor (LPC)
Physician Assistant

Occupational Therapist
Occupational Therapy Assistant

Naprapath

Pharmacist
Physical Therapist

Physicians, including Medical
Doctors (M.D.), Doctors of
Osteopathic Medicine (D.O.)

Physical Therapy Assistant

Nursing Home Administrator

Orthotist
Pedorthist

Optometrist

Perfusionist

Social Worker, Clinical (LCSW)
Social Worker (LSW)

Speech Pathologist
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* DEFINITIONS

11-20.1 (child pornography), 
11-20.3 (aggravated child pornography),
11-6 (indecent solicitation of a child),
11-9.1 (sexual exploitation of a child),
11-9.2 (custodial sexual misconduct),
11-9.5 (sexual misconduct with a person with a disability),
11-15.1 (soliciting for a juvenile prostitute),
11-18.1 (patronizing a juvenile prostitute),
11-17.1 (keeping a place of juvenile prostitution),
11-19.1 (juvenile pimping),
11-19.2 (exploitation of a child),
11-25 (grooming),
11-26 (traveling to meet a minor),
12-13 (criminal sexual assault),
12-14 (aggravated criminal sexual assault),
12-14.1 (predatory criminal sexual assault of a child),
12-15 (criminal sexual abuse), 
12-16 (aggravated criminal sexual abuse),
12-33 (ritualized abuse of a child).

10-1 (kidnapping), 

10-3 (unlawful restraint),
10-3.1 (aggravated unlawful restraint).

 (1.6) First degree murder under Section 9-1 of the Criminal Code of 1961, when the victim was a person under 18 years of age and the 
defendant was at least 17 years of age at the time of the commission of the off ense, provided the off ense was sexually motivated as 
defi ned in Section 10 of the Sex Off ender Management Board Act.
 (1.7) (Blank).
(1.8) A violation or attempted violation of Section 11-11 (sexual relations within families) of the Criminal Code of 1961, and the off ense 
was committed on or after June 1, 1997.
(1.9) Child abduction under paragraph (10) of subsection (b) of Section 105 of the Criminal Code of 1961 committed by luring or 
attempting to lure a child under the age of 16 into a motor vehicle, building, house trailer, or dwelling place without the consent of the 
parent or lawful custodian of the child for other than a lawful purpose and the off ense was committed on or after January 1, 1998, 
provided the off ense was sexually motivated as defi ned in Section 10 of the Sex Off ender Management Board Act.

(1.5) A violation of any of the following Sections of the Criminal Code of 1961, when the victim is a person under 18 years of age, the 
defendant is not a parent of the victim, the off ense was sexually motivated as defi ned in Section 10 of the Sex Off ender Management 
Board Act, and the off ense was committed on or after January 1, 1996:

(1.10) A violation or attempted violation of any of the following Sections of the Criminal Code of 1961 when the off ense was committed on 
or after July 1, 1999:

10-4 (forcible detention, if the victim is under 18 years of age), provided the off ense was sexually motivated as defi ned 
in Section 10 of the Sex Off ender Management Board Act,
11-6.5 (indecent solicitation of an adult),
11-15 (soliciting for a prostitute, if the victim is under 18 years of age),
11-16 (pandering, if the victim is under 18 years of age),
11-18 (patronizing a prostitute, if the victim is under 18 years of age), 
11-19 (pimping, if the victim is under 18 years of age).

(1.11) A violation or attempted violation of any of the following Sections of the Criminal Code of 1961 when the off ense was committed on 
or after August 22, 2002:

11-9 (public indecency for a third or subsequent conviction).
(1.12) A violation or attempted violation of Section 5.1 of the Wrongs to Children Act (permitting sexual abuse) when the off ense was 
committed on or after August 22, 2002.
(2) A violation of any former law of this State substantially equivalent to any off ense listed in subsection (B) of this Section.

(C) A conviction for an off ense of federal law, Uniform Code of Military Justice, or the law of another state or a foreign country that is 
substantially equivalent to any off ense listed in subsections (B), (C), (E), and (E5) of this Section shall constitute a conviction for the 
purpose of this Article.

10-2 (aggravated kidnapping),

 An attempt to commit any of these off enses.        

730 ILCS 150 et. seq:—Acts that require Sex Off ender Registration:        
         (B) As used in this Article, “sex off ense” means:         
   (1) A violation of any of the following Sections of  the Criminal Code of 1961:                                                 



* DEFINITIONS

A “forcible felony”, for the purposes of Section 2105-165 of the Code (section numbers are from 
the Criminal Code of 1961 [720 ILCS 5]) and 68 Illinois Administrative Code 1130.120 is one or 
more of the following off enses:

a) First Degree Murder (Section 9-1);
b) Intentional Homicide of an Unborn Child (Section 9-1.2);
c) Second Degree Murder (Section 9-2);
d) Voluntary Manslaughter of an Unborn Child (Section 9-2.1);
e) Drug-induced Homicide (Section 9-3.3);
f) Kidnapping (Section 10-1);
g) Aggravated Kidnapping (Section 10-2);
h) Unlawful Restraint (Section 10-3);
i) Aggravated Unlawful Restraint (Section 10-3.1);
j) Forcible Detention (Section 10-4);
k) Involuntary Servitude (Section 10-9(b));
l) Involuntary Sexual Servitude of a Minor (Section 10-9(c));
m) Traffi  cking in Persons (Section 10-9(d));
n) Criminal Sexual Assault (Section 11-1.20);
o) Aggravated Criminal Sexual Assault (Section 11-1.30);
p) Predatory Criminal Sexual Assault of a Child (Section 11-1.40);
q) Criminal Sexual Abuse (Section 11-1.50);
r) Aggravated Criminal Sexual Abuse (Section 11-1.60);
s) Aggravated Battery (Section 12-3.05);
t) Compelling Organization Membership of Persons (Section 12-6.5);
u) Compelling Confession or Information by Force or Threat (Section 12-7);
v) Home Invasion (Section 12-11);
w) Robbery (Section 18-1);
x) Armed Robbery (Section 18-2);
y) Vehicular Hijacking (Section 18-3);
z) Aggravated Vehicular Hijacking (Section 18-4);

bb) Terrorism (Section 29D-14.9);
cc) Causing a Catastrophe (Section 29D-15.1);
dd) Possession of a Deadly Substance (Section 29D-15.2);
ee) Making a Terrorist Threat (Section 29D-20);
ff ) Falsely Making a Terrorist Threat (Section 29D-25);
gg) Material Support for Terrorism (Section 29D-29.9);
hh) Hindering Prosecution of Terrorism (Section 29D-35);
ii) Boarding or Attempting to Board an Aircraft with Weapon (Section 29D-35.1);
jj) Armed Violence (Section 33A-2); and
kk) Attempt (Section 8-4) of any of the above specifi ed off enses.
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aa) Aggravated Robbery (Section 18-5);


