close× Call Us 1 (888) 473-4858

SPRINGFIELD – The Conference of State Bank Supervisors recently announced the appointment of Mark Clayton, Assistant Director of Illinois’ Division of Banking at the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR), to the Multi-State Mortgage Committee (MMC). The MMC is a representative body of state regulators authorized under the Nationwide Cooperative Agreement for Mortgage Supervision as an oversight body for multi-state mortgage supervision. Clayton’s appointment is effective immediately, but will receive a formal board vote of approval at the next board meeting in September.

“As our Division of Banking Assistant Director, Mark has proven himself to be an effective leader with a strong basis in state mortgage regulations,” said Bryan A. Schneider, IDFPR Secretary. “By serving in this capacity, Mark will ensure Illinois has effective representation as a policy advisor on mortgage issues to the state system.”

The MMC is comprised of ten members, five appointed by the board of CSBS and five by the board of the American Association of Residential Mortgage Regulators. Each appointment is a two year term. The ten representative states serve as a portal through which information is received, and shared both among the states themselves and external stakeholders.