Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation Illinois Department of Financial & Professional Regulation
Mario Treto, Jr., Secretary  
JB Pritzker, Governor
Agency Quick Links
IDFPR Home Page
Information About
Non-banking Financial Institutions
Professional Regulation
Real Estate
Contact Information
General FAQs
IDFPR Latest News

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation news page provides access to the department's news and press releases.


October 3, 2012

State of Illinois

New Licenses Available for Firearm Instructors


SPRINGFIELD —Rules to implement legislation mandating that firearm instructors be licensed by the State has taken effect.  The Department of Financial and Professional Regulation has begun accepting applications from qualified firearm instructors.

If an individual is currently an approved firearm instructor with the Division of Professional Regulation they must complete an application entitled: Application for Existing Registration as a Registered Firearm InstructorClick here to access the application.

In order to continue to provide services as a firearm instructor, a current firearm instructor must complete the application referenced above, submit the required $45.00 fee and be approved.  Upon approval, the firearm instructor will receive a license from the Department indicating authorization to practice and provide services.  Failure to apply for and receive approval as a firearm instructor by December 31, 2012, shall automatically cause the Division’s previously granted approval to expire.

If an individual is applying for this license for the first time they will complete an application entitled Application for Registration as a Registered Firearm Instructor. The application fee is $75.00.

Firearm instructors’ registrations will expire on December 31, 2012 and then every five years thereafter. The approval may be renewed by the firearm instructor by making application for renewal on forms provided by the Division and accompanied by the required renewal fee and an affirmation by the firearm instructor that the certification or other qualifying basis on which the Division originally granted approval remains current or in effect.

The Act and Rules for these changes are available at .  Questions regarding licensing for existing firearm instructors may be directed to the Division’s Technical Assistance Unit at 217‐782‐8556 in the Springfield office.

New Web Site:

External Links
State Features
Office of the Governor
Illinois Business Portal
Illinois Veterans Care
Get Covered Illinois