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Important: 
 

• The qualifications for an Illinois visiting physician permit are provided in 68 
Illinois Administrative Code 1285.101. Part 1285 is referred to as the medical 
rules. Links to the medical act and the medical rules are available online at 
https://idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/physicians.html under Laws and Rules. 
 

• A visiting physician permit will be issued for 180 days or until the studies, 
demonstration, or performance of clinical subject or technique are completed, 
whichever occurs first. 

 

• A visiting physician permit may be issued multiple times as long as the total 
number of days it is active does not exceed 180 days within a 365-day period. 
 

  

 

 

• Hold an active physician license to practice medicine in another U.S. state or 
jurisdiction, or in another country or province located outside of the United 
States. 
 

• Receipt of an invitation or appointment to study, demonstrate, or perform a 
specific clinical subject or technique from one of the following: (1) an Illinois 
hospital; (2) a facility operated pursuant to the Ambulatory Surgical 
Treatment Center Act [210 ILCS 5]; (3) an Illinois medical school, osteopathic 
school, or chiropractic school; or (4) a meeting or conference held in Illinois 
by a state or national association or society for professional physicians, 
osteopathic physicians, or chiropractic physicians. 
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1. Verification that you are actively licensed as a physician by another U.S. state 
or jurisdiction, or by a country or province located outside of the United 
States. Contact your state board to obtain an official verification of licensure. 
A screen printout from the board’s website may be accepted if it provides 
primary source verification of the board’s records. 
 

2. Verification that you have been accepted to study, demonstrate, or perform a 
specific clinical subject or technique from one of the following:  

(1) an Illinois hospital; (2) a facility operated pursuant to the Ambulatory 
Surgical Treatment Center Act [210 ILCS 5]; (3) an Illinois medical school, 
osteopathic school, or chiropractic school; or (4) a meeting or conference 
held in Illinois by a state or national association or society for professional 
physicians, osteopathic physicians, or chiropractic physicians. 
 

3. Copy of your current curriculum vitae documenting your professional 
education, training, qualifications experience and accomplishments related 
to your profession. 
 

4. Verification of a fingerprint-based background check submitted to the Illinois 
State Police (ISP) electronically through a licensed live scan fingerprint 
vendor. The fingerprints will be checked against ISP and FBI criminal history 
records. Fingerprints must be taken no more than 60 days prior to 
submission of your application. 
 

Please apply for licensure with the Division of Professional Regulation using the 
CORE licensing system online at https://idfpr.illinois.gov/core.html.  

REQUIRED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS 

https://idfpr.illinois.gov/core.html

