

IDFPR Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

Division of Professional Regulation

## **Qualifications for Licensure:**

# Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (146 & 147)

Effective: 12/2024 Revised: 03/2025

Page 1 of 3

## **READ ME FIRST**

The Division of Professional Regulation hopes that you will find the below useful in successfully applying for a license in the State of Illinois. Carefully review this information as it will assist you in applying for your license and eliminate any processing delays.

#### Important:

- An application is active for three years from the date of receipt by the Department.
- Before contacting the Department, please review our FAQs for answers to most questions. <u>http://www.idfpr.illinois.gov/About/FAQ.html</u>)
- If your question is not addressed in our FAQ's, please contact the department at 1-800-560-6420 or email us at: fpr.nurseunit@illinois.gov
- Pursuant to Public Act 91-932, effective January 1, 2001, the Department is mandated to collect a Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Act Fee of \$45 at the time of licensure and renewal. The additional fee will be deposited into the Hearing Instrument Dispenser Licensing and Discipline Fund administered by the Department of Public Health in accordance with Public Act 91-932. The fee has been incorporated into the licensing fee.

### LICENSE QUALIFICATIONS

#### Education:

• Master's or doctoral degree from an approved speech-language pathology or audiology program. An audiologist whose degree was conferred January 1, 2008 or after must verify a doctoral degree in audiology from an approved program.

#### **Endorsement:**

• If you have ever been licensed, we require an official certification of licensure from the U.S. jurisdiction of your original licensure and the U.S. jurisdiction of current licensure where you have most recently been practicing.

## **REQUIRED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS**

• Official transcript verifying either a master's or doctoral degree from an approved speech-language or audiology program. An audiologist whose degree was conferred January 1, 2008 or after must verify a doctoral degree in audiology from an approved program.

• Submit verification of successful completion of the National Examination in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology (PRAXIS) in the form of original grade results from the NTE program *and* 

Supporting document VE must be completed verifying the equivalent of 9 months of full time supervised professional experience (Speech-language pathologists only). The VE form must be signed by your licensed speech-language pathology supervisor **or** For

speech-language pathologists, submit a copy of the certification from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA)

## IMPORTANT INFORMATION ONCE LICENSED

- All speech-language pathology and audiology licenses expire on October 31 of each odd-numbered year, regardless of issuance date.
- It is your responsibility to update your contact information including email address with the Department to ensure that you receive all courtesy renewal email reminders and other notifications.