

Qualifications for Licensure:

Speech-Language Pathology Temporary License (242)

Effective: 06/2025

READ ME FIRST

The Division of Professional Regulation hopes that you will find the below useful in successfully applying for a license in the State of Illinois. Carefully review this information as it will assist you in applying for your license and eliminate any processing delays.

Important:

- An application is active for three years from the date of receipt by the Department.
- Before contacting the Department, please review our FAQs for answers to most questions. http://www.idfpr.illinois.gov/About/FAQ.html)
- If your question is not addressed in our FAQ's, please contact the department at 1-800-560-6420 or email us at: fpr.nurseunit@illinois.gov

Pursuant to Section 8.1 of the Illinois Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology Practice Act, a person who has met the requirements of (a) through (e) of Section 8 of the Act and intends to undertake supervised professional experience as a speech-language pathologist must first obtain a temporary license from the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Division of Professional Regulation. A temporary license shall be issued for a period of 18 months and may be renewed only once for good cause shown. *NOTE:* For supervised professional experience obtained in Illinois to be acceptable, it must have been done under the authority of a valid temporary license for speech-language pathology and supervised by an IDFPR licensed speech-language pathologist

It is expected the Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY) will commence directly after the master's degree is conferred. The temporary license is issued for a period of 18 months which is deemed adequate for those individuals pursuing their supervised professional experience for either full-time or part-time basis. The CFY must be supervised by a speech-language pathologist license by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.

Although the American Speech Hearing Association (ASHA) Guidelines for the Clinical Fellows allows up to 48 months to complete the supervised professional experience hours for certification purposes, that is not the case for speech-language pathology licensure in Illinois.

LICENSE QUALIFICATIONS

Education:

 Completion of a master's or doctoral degree from an approved program. NO predated graduation dates acceptable.

Examination:

 Successful completion of the Praxis examination OR certification from American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA).

Experience:

- Work experience shall be obtained in no less that nine-months of full-time professional employment with full-time employment defined as a minimum of 30 clock hours a work per week.
 - 15-19 hours per week over 18 months
 - 20-24 hours per week over 15 months
 - 25-29 hours per week over 12 months

Professional employment less than 15 hours per week will not fulfill professional experience requirements.

REQUIRED SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS

- Official transcript from master's or doctoral degree program.
- Verification of successful completion of the Praxis examination in the form of original grade results from the NTE or submit a copy of the certification from the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA)
- TP-SLP form.

NOTE: Speech-Language Pathology Temporary – License Pending

• Applicants wishing to work in a license pending status for the temporary speech-language pathology license for a period of 120 days in accordance with Section 8.1 Paragraph 2 of the Speech-Language and Audiology Practice Act must have completed the course and clinical curriculum required to receive a master's degree in speech-language pathology but have not yet been conferred the actual master's degree. If the degree has been conferred, new graduates cannot practice under this provision.