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TOMA FAQ’S 
 
 

Q.  How do I file a complaint?  
A.  To file a complaint, please use the following form: 
https://www.idfpr.com/admin/DFI/DFIcomplaint.asp  
After receiving your complaint, the Department will forward it to the money transmitters 
involved.  They will have 30 days in which to respond. The nature of your complaint may result 
in the Department asking you to contact the money transmitters directly.  The Department may 
also require more documentation from you to help better understand your complaint.  
 
 
Q.  Do I need an Illinois Money Transmitter License?  
A.  Before embarking on the licensure process, an applicant may request a non-binding statement 
from the money transmitter section. The request can be accessed on the following link; 
https://www.idfpr.com/Forms/DFI/NBS/Non-Binding%20Statement%202020-
01%20Redacted.pdf   
-For exemptions to the licensure requirements, please consult the Illinois Transmitters of Money 
Act at: 
HTTP://WWW.ILGAGOV/LEGISLATION/ILCS/ILCS3.ASP?ACTID=1201&CHAPTERID=2
0   
 -For information regarding third-party payment processors: 
HTTP://WWW.IDFPR.COM/FORMS/DFI/CCD/07292015STATEMENTTHIRDPARTYPROC
TOMA.PDF    
 -For digital currency regulatory guidance:  
HTTP://WWW.IDFPR.COM/FORMS/DFI/CCD/IDFPR%20%20DIGITAL%20CURRENCY%
20REGULATORY%20GUIDANCE.PDF    
  
 
Q.  How do I obtain an Illinois Money Transmitter License?   
A.  To apply for a license, applicants must visit the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System & 
Registry (NMLS) at https://mortgage.nationwidelicensingsystem.org and follow the step-by step 
instructions to register/apply.  
- Applicants will be required to submit the following documents:  

 FinCEN (Financial Crimes Enforcement Network) registration   
 AML/BSA Program document 
 Articles of Incorporation/ By-laws 
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 Certificate of Good Standing in Illinois and home district 
 List of other states where licensed 
 List of proposed Illinois locations/authorized sellers 
 Sample authorized seller contract 
 Sample customer receipt showing Illinois disclosure 
 Affidavit to comply with all laws 
 Surety bond 
 Consent to Process of Service (form on website) 
 SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) filings (if applicable) 
 Business plan/flow of funds 
 Net worth calculation  
 Name/address of all clearing banks used 
 Recent financial statements (startup applicants may submit unaudited financial statements 

certified by a Corporate Officer).   
 

After review, the department may require applicants to demonstrate their systems used for 
money transmission in order to verify that there are sufficient controls in place to comply with 
state and federal requirements. Applicants will be required to pay the following fees when 
applying for a license (205 ILCS 657/45):   

 $100 application fee 
 $100 license fee (which shall be refunded if the application is denied/withdrawn) 
 $10 for each authorized seller location  

Prior to issuing a license, the Director of Financial Institutions may use his/her discretion to 
conduct an on-site investigation/examination to determine the financial condition and 
responsibility, financial and business experience, and character and general fitness of the 
applicant (205 ILCS 657/35).  
 
  
Q.  After I have been issued a Money Transmitter License, what must I do to keep it current, and 
how do I renew my license? 
 A.  The following items must be submitted annually, quarterly, or as required: 
Annually 
renewals must be submitted into NMLS by December 1st of each year: (205 ILCS 657/40):  

• Submit the request for renewal.  
• Pay renewal fee. 
• Upload agents. 
• Pay fee for agents.   
• Upload current bond. 
• Upload current SOS. 
• Upload into NMLS audited financial statements for the past year of operations 

(due 120 days after end of fiscal year). 
•  
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 Quarterly 
• Upload the authorized seller and branch information. 
• Each addition of an authorized seller requires $10. 
• Upload the quarterly financial statements. 

 
 As required  

• You must report any change of address of the principal location of the Money 
Transmitter, as well as that of all authorized sellers. 

• You must report bankruptcy filings, any license revocations or suspensions from 
any state, and any felony indictments or convictions within 15 days of the 
effective date/occurrence.   

  
Q.  How do I surrender my license? 
A.  To surrender your license, you must submit a surrender request, list of authorized seller 
locations, and closing documents to NMLS; as well as, submit closing documents, original 
license, and outstanding orders/transmission to the Department of Financial and Professional 
Regulation. 
Currency Exchange/TOMA section contact information:  
EMAIL ADDRESS (not case sensitive): FPR.CURRENCYEXCHANGE@ILLINOIS.GOV 
EMAIL ADDRESS (not case sensitive): FPR.MONEYTRANSMITTER@ILLINOIS.GOV   
FAX: 312-814-8672  
Mailing Address:  
IDFPR-Currency Exchange Section                                 
JRTC 100 West Randolph Street, Suite 123                             
Chicago, Illinois 60601                                      
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