

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

Division of Professional Regulation

JB PRITZKER Governor DEBORAH HAGAN Secretary

CECILIA ABUNDIS
Acting Director
Division of Professional Regulation

New Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Continuing Education (CE) requirement to renew licenses issued by DPR beginning January 1, 2020

A new law passed in 2019 requires individuals with licenses issued by DPR that require CE to renew their license also complete 1 hour of CE on the topic of sexual harassment prevention training. This requirement is in effect for all renewals after January 1, 2020. This new CE requirement can be included in the number of hours already required under the individual Acts and Rules and does not increase the number of hours required to renew a license.

How do I know if the sponsor or provider is accepted or approved?

Licensees can take this CE course from <u>any</u> CE provider or sponsor that is authorized to provide CE for <u>any</u> profession regulated by IDFPR. This includes businesses or entities that have active CE sponsor licenses for any profession, or that are listed as a 'pre-approved' sponsor for any profession. For example, any licensee (accountant, physical therapist, dentist, etc.) can take a class offered from a company that has a Nurse CE provider license.

Is there a list of approved sexual harassment prevention training CE sponsors or providers?

We are unable to provide a comprehensive list of all potential CE sponsors or providers. A sample list of approved sponsors is listed below. If you are considering a class, please contact the sponsor or provider in advance to confirm that they either have a CE provider license issued by DFPR, or they are listed as a 'pre-approved' sponsor under any licensing Act or Rules administered by DFPR.

Sample list of approved sponsors

The list below is provided as examples of entities that are authorized to provide CE under one or more Act or Rules administered by DFPR. You must receive a CE Certificate that states the number of hours completed to comply with the requirement. Note that for all other CE requirements, the CE provider or sponsor must qualify under the Act or Rules for your profession.

- State of Illinois agencies
- Federal agencies
- Illinois county agencies
- Illinois municipality
- Accredited colleges or universities
- Any business or entity with an 'Active' CE provider license issued by IDFPR. (Be sure the CE provider license number appears on the Certificate.)

I am a State employee or was required to complete the Sexual Harassment training on the State of Illinois OneNet training platform. Does that course count?

Yes. The Sexual Harassment Prevention Training completed by State of Illinois employees will satisfy this new sexual harassment continuing education (CE) requirement. Licensees may print an updated Certificate of Completion by visiting the OneNet site and logging into their account (https://OneNet.Illinois.gov/MyTraining).

This is my first time renewing my Illinois license – do I need to complete the 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention training CE prior to license renewal?

For most professions, individuals are not required to complete CE before their first renewal. If this is the first time you are renewing a license, you do not have to complete sexual harassment prevention training CE.

My profession requires 20 hours of CE. Does this new requirement mean I will need to complete 21 hours? No, the sexual harassment prevention training CE requirement can be included in the number of CE hours already required for your profession.

How do I document that I completed the sexual harassment prevention training CE? Will I have to send proof that I completed the course to the Department?

Like all other CE you must receive a Certificate of Completion and retain it for your records. The Certificate must include information such as the number of hours completed, the name of the sponsor or provider, and the date the CE was completed. You will not need to provide a Certificate if you renew on time, but you may be asked to confirm that you have completed the training. You may need to provide a Certificate if you renew late, need to restore or reinstate an expired license, or if you are included in a CE audit.

I received sexual harassment awareness training from my employer. Does that count?

It will depend if your employer is an accepted or approved CE provider, and if you received a CE Certificate for the training. Please check with your employer to see if they qualify.

Is this a one-time requirement or I will have to take this training again?

Sexual harassment prevention training will be required for every renewal after January 1, 2020.

My license is in 'Inactive'/'Not-Renewed'/'Suspended' status. Will I need to complete sexual harassment prevention training to restore or reinstate my license?

Yes, to restore, reinstate or reactivate your license after January 1, 2020, you must complete the training if your profession requires CE. The sexual harassment prevention training can be included in the number of hours required to reactive your license.

My profession does not require CE to renew. Do I have to take a sexual harassment prevention training class to renew my license?

No, if your profession does not require CE you are not required to complete the training. The following professions do not require CE to renew and do not have to complete sexual harassment prevention training to renew their license:

- Interior Design
- Geology
- Barber
- Humane Euthanasia Technician

- Perfusionist
- Surgical Technologist and Surgical Assistant
- Associate Marriage and Family Therapists
- Professions under the Detective Act (PERC, Private Detective, Alarm Contractor, Private Security, Fingerprint Vendors, Locksmith, Canine Handler)

I have multiple licenses issued by IDFPR. Will I have to take multiple classes?

No, you may use one class to satisfy this requirement for multiple licenses.

I have completed the Domestic Violence CE course required under the Barber, Cosmetology Act. Does that course satisfy this requirement?

No, unless that course also covered the topic of prevention of sexual harassment.

Public Act:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=100-0762&GA=100

Rules

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068011300E04000R.html

Posted November 4, 2019; Updated February, 2020; Updated March 2020;



Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

Division of Real Estate

JB PRITZKER Governor DEBORAH HAGAN Secretary

MARIO TRETO, Jr. Acting Director Division of Real Estate

New Sexual Harassment Prevention Training Continuing Education requirement to renew licenses issued by the Division of Real Estate beginning January 1, 2020

Sexual harassment prevention training is now required of all persons who hold a license issued by the Division of Real Estate ("DRE") for professions that require Continuing Education ("CE") to renew. The new law requires licensees to complete a one-hour CE course in sexual harassment prevention training and is effective for all renewals on or after January 1, 2020 where CE is required.

How do I know if the CE provider or sponsor is accepted or approved?

Licensees can take this CE course from <u>any CE</u> provider or sponsor that is authorized to provide CE for <u>any</u> profession regulated by IDFPR. This includes businesses or entities that have active CE provider licenses for any profession. For example, any licensee (appraiser, broker, home inspector, etc.) can take a class offered from a company that has a Nurse CE provider license.

Is there a list of approved sexual harassment prevention training CE providers or sponsors?

For real estate professionals, a list of approved CE providers and their courses are available on the IDFPR website, DRE section. https://www.idfpr.com/DRE/Education/RECECourseList.asp

There is no list or special license specifically for sexual harassment prevention training courses. If you are considering a class, please contact the CE provider or sponsor in advance to confirm that they have a CE provider license issued by IDFPR.

Sample list of approved CE providers or sponsors

The list below is provided as examples of entities that are authorized to provide CE. You must receive a CE Certificate that states the number of hours completed to comply with the requirement. Note that for all other CE requirements, the CE provider or sponsor must qualify under the Act or Rules for your profession.

- State of Illinois agencies
- Federal agencies
- Illinois county agencies
- Illinois municipalities
- Accredited colleges or universities
- Any business or entity with an 'Active' CE provider license issued by IDFPR. (Be sure the CE provider license number appears on the Certificate.)

This is my first time renewing my Illinois license – do I need to complete the one (1) hour of sexual harassment prevention training CE prior to license renewal?

Yes. For professions regulated by DRE, licensees are required to complete the sexual harassment prevention training upon their first renewal.

My profession requires 12 hours of CE. Does this new requirement mean I will need to complete 13 hours? It depends. The sexual harassment prevention training CE can be included in the number of CE hours already required for your profession. However, if you have completed the minimum CE hour requirement for your profession but not an approved sexual harassment prevention training, you will need to fulfill this requirement by taking an additional hour. More specifically, appraisers will be required to complete the sexual harassment prevention training in addition to their CE but licensees in other professions regulated by DRE can include the sexual harassment prevention training within their CE hours.

Will I have to send proof that I completed the sexual harassment prevention training CE course to the Department?

No. However, like all other CE, you must receive a Certificate of Completion and retain it for your records. The Certificate must include information such as the number of hours completed, the name of the CE provider or sponsor, and the date the CE was completed. You will not need to provide a Certificate if you renew on time, but you may be asked to confirm that you have completed the training. You may need to provide a Certificate if you renew late, need to restore an expired license, or if you are included in a CE audit.

I received sexual harassment awareness training from my employer. Does that count?

It depends. CE will be credited only if your employer is an approved CE provider or sponsor for IDFPR and you received a CE Certificate for the training. Please check the IDFPR website or with your employer to see if they qualify.

Is this training required each time I renew my license?

Yes. Sexual harassment prevention training will be required for every renewal after January 1, 2020.

Will I need to complete sexual harassment prevention training to restore or reinstate my license?

Yes. Depending on when your next renewal period is after January 1, 2020, for which you must take CE, you are required to take the sexual harassment prevention training.

My profession does not require CE to renew. Do I have to take a sexual harassment prevention training class to renew my license?

No, if your profession does not require CE you are not required to complete the training.

I have multiple licenses. Will I have to take multiple trainings to satisfy the requirements?

No, you may use one class to satisfy this requirement for your multiple licenses. For example, this includes licenses issued by DRE and DPR.

Public Act:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/publicacts/fulltext.asp?Name=100-0762&GA=100

Rules

http://www.ilga.gov/commission/jcar/admincode/068/068011300E04000R.html

Posted November 2019

Updated February 2020