

## Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

## **Division of Professional Regulation**

JB PRITZKER Governor DEBORAH HAGAN Secretary

CECILIA ABUNDIS
Acting Director
Division of Professional Regulation

October 13, 2020

## **Guidance for Clinical Social Workers and Social Workers Renewing November 2021**

On March 9, 2020 Governor JB Pritzker first declared all counties in the State of Illinois as a disaster area in response to the outbreak of COVID-19. Governor JB Pritzker again declared all counties in the State of Illinois as a disaster area on April 1, 2020; April 30, 2020; May 29, 2020; June 26, 2020; July 24, 2020; August 21, 2020; and September 18, 2020.

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation ("Department"), Division of Professional Regulation (the "Division") is issuing the following Guidance for Clinical Social Work and Social Work in response to the Illinois Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamations. The Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act states that no person without a currently valid license issued by the Department shall in any manner hold themselves out to the public as a Social Worker or Clinical Social Worker, use the title of "Social Worker" or "Clinical Social Worker", or offer to render social work services. The expiration date for Clinical Social Work and Social Work licensure is November 30, 2021. A licensee may renew their license during the 60-day period preceding the November 30, 2021 expiration date by paying the required fee and demonstrating compliance with the continuing education requirements as set by rule. Under current rules, 68 Illinois Administrative Code Section 1470.95, in the 24-month period prior to November 30, 2021, Clinical Social Workers and Social Workers shall complete 30 hours of approved continuing education (CE). A minimum of 50% of the total CE hours required- 15 hoursmust be obtained through face-to-face, in-person instruction or experience.

Due to the Coivd-19 pandemic, the Department has become aware that opportunities for in-person CE courses have diminished and as a result, licensees may not be able to complete their in-person CE requirements. It is because of this that the Department has drafted proposed Emergency Rules temporarily removing the in-person requirement. Such rules will be submitted to go into effect in July 2021, 150 days prior to the November 30, 2021 licensure expiration date. Until such time, this Guidance should be referenced when determining Clinical Social Work and Social Work CE requirements. The Department intends that all 30 CE hours required for the November 2021 renewal may be completed online either by live, real-time presentations, or through pre-recorded video provided by approved CE sponsors.

This Guidance is in no way intended to waive or modify any statute, rule, or regulation concerning the licensure of or practice of Clinical Social Work or Social Work set forth in the Clinical Social Work and Social Work Practice Act, 225 ILCS 20/11, or its Administrative Rules, 68 Ill. Admin. Code 1470.