Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation



Division of Professional Regulation

JB PRITZKER Governor DEBORAH HAGAN Secretary

Cecilia Abundis Acting Director Division of Professional Regulation

November 13, 2020

Guidance for Dental Hygienists Renewing September 2021

On March 9, 2020 Governor JB Pritzker first declared all counties in the State of Illinois as a disaster area in response to the outbreak of COVID-19. Governor JB Pritzker again declared all counties in the State of Illinois as a disaster area on April 1, 2020; April 30, 2020; May 29, 2020; June 26, 2020; July 24, 2020; August 21, 2020; September 18, 2020; and again, on October 16, 2020.

The Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation ("Department"), Division of Professional Regulation (the "Division") is issuing the following Guidance for Dental Hygienists in response to the Illinois Gubernatorial Disaster Proclamations. The Illinois Dental Practice Act states that no person without a currently valid license issued by the Department shall in any manner hold themselves out to the public as a Dental Hygienist, use the title of "Dental Hygienist", or offer to render dental hygiene services. **The expiration date for Dental Hygiene licensure is September 30, 2021**. A licensee may renew their license during the month preceding the September 30, 2021 expiration date by paying the required fee, certifying their BLS certification is current, and demonstrating compliance with the continuing education requirements as set by rule. Under current rules, 68 Illinois Administrative Code Section 1220.440, in the 36-month period prior to September 30, 2021, Dental Hygienists shall complete 36 hours of approved continuing education (CE). A minimum of 50% of the total CE hours required, 18 hours, must be obtained through face-to-face, in-person instruction or experience.

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Department has become aware that opportunities for in-person CE courses have diminished and as a result, licensees may not be able to complete their in-person CE requirements. For this reason, the Department has drafted proposed Emergency Rules to temporarily remove the in-person requirement. The Department intends to submit such rules to go into effect in May 2021, approximately 150 days prior to the September 30, 2021 licensure expiration date. Until such time, this Guidance should be referenced when determining Dental Hygiene CE requirements. **The Department intends that all 36 CE hours required for the September 2021 renewal may be completed online either by live, real-time presentations, or through prerecorded video provided by approved CE sponsors.**

This Guidance is in no way intended to waive or modify any statute, rule, or regulation concerning the licensure of or practice of Dental Hygiene set forth in the Illinois Dental Practice Act, 225 ILCS 25, or its Administrative Rules, 68 Ill. Admin. Code 1440.