## CONTINUING EDUCATION FACT SHEET FOR 2022 HOME INSPECTOR LICENSE RENEWAL

- The 2022 Home Inspector Renewal deadline is November 30, 2022.
- Prior to renewing a license, the licensee shall complete the required courses as described below.

## Continuing Education (CE) Hour Requirements

If the home inspector was first licensed on or before November 30, 2020:

- **12 hours** of CE is required, of which 6 hours must be approved as Mandatory.
- <u>1-hour Sexual Harassment Prevention</u>
  <u>Training Course</u>

If the home inspector was first licensed between December 1, 2020 and November 30, 2021:

- **6 hours** of CE is required, of which 3 hours must be approved as Mandatory.
- <u>1-hour Sexual Harassment Prevention</u>
  <u>Training Course</u>

If the home inspector was first licensed on or after December 1, 2021:

• **No CE** is required for this renewal.

## Certification of Compliance with Continuing Education Requirements

- Each renewal applicant shall certify on the renewal application to full compliance with the CE requirements. Licensees who are exempt from the CE requirements should indicate on the renewal application that they have complied with the CE requirements.
- The Department may require additional evidence demonstrating compliance with the CE requirements. It is the responsibility of each renewal applicant to retain or otherwise produce evidence of such compliance upon request.

## **Resources**

CE must be obtained through an IDFPR licensed Home Inspector Education Provider. The CE course must also have a current license.

- A list of approved Continuing Education Providers may be found at: <u>https://idfpr.illinois.gov/DRE/Education/</u><u>HICEList.asp</u>
- Your original date of licensure and current license status may be found using the "Licensee Lookup" at: <u>https://online-dfpr.micropact.com/lookup/</u> <u>licenselookup.aspx</u>
- Your list of completed CE courses may be viewed using the "CE Lookup" at: <u>https://online-dfpr.micropact.com/celookup/</u>

If you have taken a CE course and it is not listed on the CE Lookup within 45 days of completion, please contact your education provider to ensure that all course requirements, such as proctored course exams, have been satisfied.

You may access the Illinois Home Inspector License Act and Administrative Rules on our website at:

https://idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/Homeinspect.asp

**Note:** CE taken for disciplinary purposes may not be used toward your CE renewal requirements.

Reminder – Any Home Inspector Entity that desires to practice as a home inspector or provide home inspections in the State of Illinois in the form of a corporation, limited liability company or a legally formed partnership shall obtain a Home Inspector Entity License by applying to IDFPR on forms provided by IDFPR and paying the required fee. An application for a home inspector entity license is available on our Web site @ <a href="https://idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/Homeinspect.asp">https://idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/Homeinspector</a> of the state of line of a corporation, limited liability company or a legally formed partnership shall obtain a Home Inspector Entity License by applying to IDFPR on forms provided by IDFPR and paying the required fee. An application for a home inspector entity license is available on our Web site @ <a href="https://idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/Homeinspect.asp">https://idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/Homeinspect.asp</a>