Home Inspector License Act At A Glance

All home inspectors are required to be licensed by January 1, 2003, including individuals and entities practicing in the form of a corporation, a limited liability company or a legally formed partnership. Please review the Home Inspector License Act (225 ILCS 441) and Administrative Rule (68 III. Adm. Code 1440).

Initial License Requirements

- At least 18 years of age
- A high school diploma or equivalent course of study (GED)
- As a pre-requisite to sitting for the examination, an applicant must successfully complete 60 hours of pre-license education and a minimum of 5 field inspection events from an education provider approved and licensed by DFPR.
- Take and successfully pass a state examination Examination fee is \$125 payable to our testing vendor, Applied Measurement Professionals, Inc. (PSIAMP). Call PSI/AMP at 800/345-6559 to schedule an examination appointment. Or go to www.goamp.com
- After passing the Home Inspector Examination for Illinois, follow the directions provided on your passing score report/license application. Licensure application materials must be submitted to: AMP, P.O. Box 13482, Springfield, Illinois 62791-3482. (These instructions are contained in the PSI/AMP Examination Candidate Handbook).

Renewal Requirements

- Successfully complete the equivalent of 6 hours of continuing education per year or 12 hours per renewal from an education provider approved and licensed by DFPR.
- Complete a renewal application and pay the renewal fee. See fees listed below.

Expiration

- November 30th of even numbered years for home inspectors and entities
- December 31st of odd numbered years for education providers and courses (continuing education and pre-license providers and courses)

Fees

٠	Inspector	Initial	\$250
		Renewal	\$400 (\$200 per year)
٠	Entity	Initial	\$250
		Renewal	\$400 (\$200 per year)
٠	Education Provider	Initial	\$1,000
		Renewal	\$1,000 (\$500 per year)

Standards of Practice

• Minimum standards established by rule as adopted by DFPR

If you have questions, please call Real Estate Professions Licensing: (800) 560-6420.