

## Real Estate Brokerage License Requirements for a Pre-License Instructor

An individual possessing a Real Estate Pre-License Instructor License may teach any **Pre-License**, **Post-License**, **and Continuing Education ("CE") Course** licensed by the Division of Real Estate ("DRE"), unless restricted by the DRE to specific courses or topic areas. The license is portable, and the licensee may teach with any Education Provider licensed by the DRE.

## Applicants for a Pre-License Instructor License shall meet the following requirements:

- Pass an examination provided and approved by the DRE and administered by PSI with a minimum score of 75%. Please visit the PSI website for more information about the exam: <a href="https://home.psiexams.com/#/home?bc=ilre">https://home.psiexams.com/#/home?bc=ilre</a>.
- 2. Demonstrate expertise by:
  - a. Holding an active broker or managing broker license for the immediately preceding 2 years; or
  - b. Being admitted to the practice of law by the Supreme Court of Illinois; or
  - c. Prior teaching experience for a minimum period of 2 years; or
  - d. Professional background and experience
- 3. Complete a 12-hour instructor development course administered over 2 or more days, approved by the DRE, and comprised of: i) 6 hours devoted to instructor training and development; and ii) 6 hours devoted to teaching the content of pre-license courses.
  - a. Please see the following link for a list of DRE-approved pre-license instructor development workshops: https://idfpr.illinois.gov/dre/education/resch512.html
  - b. Note: International Distance Education Certification Center ("IDECC") or Illinois Real Estate Educational Foundation ("IREEF") certification does not meet this requirement.

## How to Apply:

To apply for a Pre-License Instructor License, please submit a completed Pre-License Instructor application and <u>application fee</u> via the Online Services Portal: <a href="https://online-dfpr.micropact.com">https://online-dfpr.micropact.com</a>.