Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Division of Professional Regulation

Illinois Optometric Licensing and Disciplinary Board Open Minutes

Date: September 17, 2020

Meeting Convened: 10:35 a.m. Meeting Adjourned: 12:14 p.m.

Locations: Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

Division of Professional Regulation Via Interactive Webinar

Board Members Present: Janice M. McMahon, O.D., Chairperson

Mark D. Esarey, O.D., Vice-Chairperson

Brian Sehy, O.D., Member

Charlotte F. Nielsen, O.D., Member R. Scott Wooley O.D., Member

Board Members Absent: Valerie Sims-Rucker, Public Member

Visitors Present: Leigh Ann Vanausdoll, Illinois Optometry Association

David Jacobs, M.D.

Caitlyn Ozier, King & Spalding LLP Chris Markus, King & Spalding LLP

Staff Present: Keri Ginger, Board Liaison

Janel Haretoun, General Counsel

Yadira Lazcano, Intern

TOPIC	DISCUSSION	ACTION
Welcome and Introductions	The Board members, DPR	
	staff and guests introduced	
	themselves.	
	Caitlyn Ozier and Chris	A motion was made and
	Markus from King &	seconded (McMahon/Sehy)
	Spalding LLC along with	to approve the drug, Upneeq.
	David Jacobs, M.D. presented	Motion approved by roll call
	information on the FDA	vote.
	approved drug, Upneeq	
	(oxymetazoline hydrochloride	Aye -Esarey, McMahon,
	ophthalmic solution) for	Nielson, Sehy, Wooley
	treatment of acquired	
	blepharoptosis (droopy eye	A recommendation was made
	lid).	to the Director that the drug
		Upneeq (oxymetazoline
		hydrochloride ophthalmic
		solution) be approved by the

		Department for treatment of acquired blepharoptosis (droopy eye lid) and that the Department promulgate rules within 45 days pursuant to 225 ILCS 80/15.1 (a-3) to include Upneeq in 68 Ill. Admin. Rules 1320.330 of the Administrative Rules on Optometry. (Action sheet 20-0697)
Approval of Minutes	The Open Minutes from the March 12, 2020 and May 28, 2020 board meetings were reviewed by the Board Members.	The Open Minutes from the March 12, 2020 and May 28, 2020 Board Meetings stand approved as read.
Old Business	The board discussed changes in CPT Codes.	
New Business	The board discussed and held elections for Chairperson and Vice-Chairperson of the Optometry Board.	A motion was made and seconded (Nielsen/Sehy) to nominate Janice McMahon for Chairperson and Mark Esarey for Vice-Chairperson. Motion approved by roll call vote. Aye -Esarey, McMahon, Nielson, Sehy, Wooley
	The board members discussed Continuing Education regulations and requirements. More information regarding CE will be forthcoming from legal counsel after further discussions within the Department.	
Chairman Time	The Chairperson noted that Gary Lasken, a former Optometry Board member, passed away recently. The Board expressed condolences to his family and friends. The Chairperson also noted that the position is still open	

	for the Optometry Coordinator.	
Board Liaison Time	The next meeting of the Optometry Board, November 19, 2020, is tentatively scheduled as a virtual meeting.	
Closed Session		A motion was made and seconded (Esarey/Wooley) to close the session for the purpose of reviewing the closed minutes pursuant to Section 2(c)(21) of the Open Meetings Act. A roll call vote was taken. Aye- Esarey, McMahon. Nielsen, Sehy, Wooley The motion carried, and the
		session closed at 12:09 p.m.
Open Session and Adjournment		A motion was made and seconded (Esarey/Wooley) to approve the recommendations made during Closed Session. Motion approved by roll call vote.
		Aye -Esarey, McMahon, Nielson, Sehy, Wooley
		A motion was made and seconded (Sehy/Nielsen) to simultaneously come out of Closed Session and adjourn the Optometric Board Meeting at 12:14 p.m. Motion approved by roll call vote.
		Aye -Esarey, McMahon, Nielson, Sehy, Wooley