Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Division of Professional Regulation Illinois Optometric Licensing and Disciplinary Board

Meeting Date: September 16, 2021

Location: Meeting conducted virtually due to disaster declaration.

Call to Order: 10:31 a.m.

Adjournment: 12:52 a.m.

Board Members Participating: Janice M. McMahon, O.D., Chairperson

Mark D. Esarey, O.D., Vice-Chairperson Charlotte F. Nielsen, O.D., Member

Brian Sehy, O.D., Member

Valerie Sims-Rucker, Public Member R. Scott Wooley O.D., Member

Board Members Unavailable: None

Division Staff Participating: Janel Haretoun, Office of General Counsel

Robert Gerton, Board Liaison

Guests: Leigh Ann Vanausdoll, Illinois Optometric Association

TOPIC	DISCUSSION	ACTION
CALL TO ORDER	Janice McMahon called the meeting to order at 10:31 a.m. and welcomed everyone to the meeting, then she took roll of Board members and guests participating in the meeting.	
MINUTES ACCEPTANCE	Board members reviewed the minutes of open session from the May 20, 2021 meeting.	Minutes were accepted by roll call vote. McMahon—Yes Nielsen—Yes Esarey—Yes Sehy—Yes Sims-Rucker—Yes Wooley—Yes
RULES	Counsel Haretoun led the Board through a draft of proposed Rules changes.	

LEGISLATION UPDATE	Leigh Ann Vanausdoll provided a brief update of legislation of interest to the IOA and to the Optometric Profession.	
ELECTIONS FOR CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR	An election was held for the roles of Chair and Vice-Chair.	Mark Esarey was unanimously elected to serve as Chair. Brian Sehy was unanimously elected to serve as Vice-Chair.
ADJOURNMENT		At 12:52 p.m., the meeting adjourned.