Division of Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov

**JB PRITZKER** Governor

MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary

**CECILIA ABUNDIS** Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an open meeting via WebEx at 7:47 a.m. on Wednesday, March 1, 2023. It was not practical or prudent to meet in-person due to the COVID-19 disaster.

The following board members were present for the meeting:

Maria Laporta, M.D., Board Chair Sreenivas G. Reddy, M.D., Vice Chair Thomas Boyle, D.O. Member Donald Diemer, DHSc, PA-C, Member Mohammed Jameel, M.D., Member Ratna Kanumury, PA-C, Member James G. MacKenzie, D.O., Member Douglas Matzner, D.C., Member Caroline Moellering, Public Member Bartlomiei Nierzwicki, M.D., Member Dana Ray, M.D., Member Pedro Rodriguez, M.D., Member

The members present constituted a quorum.

The following Department staff were present for the meeting:

Brandon Thom, J.D., Chief of Medical Prosecutions Lauren Craig, J.D., Associate General Counsel Shami Goyal, M.D., Chief Medical Coordinator Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations John Zander, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Robert Mosley, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Joseph Fojtik, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Theodore Adams, J.D. Chief of Investigations Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Todd Robertson, Board Liaison

# **OPENING STATEMENT**

Dr. Laporta read the following opening statement: This meeting is being conducted by audio/video conference without a quorum of members physically present because the Governor of the State of Illinois has issued a disaster declaration related to public health concerns and an in-person meeting is not practical or prudent based on the disaster described in the declaration. Furthermore, the Secretary of the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation has determined pursuant to Section 7 of the Open Meetings Act that an in-person meeting is not practical or prudent because of a disaster. All votes will be conducted by roll call, so that each member's vote on each issue can be identified and recorded.

#### **OPEN MINUTES**

A motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Moellering) to approve the open session minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting on February 15, 2023. Roll call vote - Yes: Laporta, Reddy, Boyle, Diemer, Jameel, Kanumury, MacKenzie, Matzner, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Ray, Rodriguez, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None. The motion passed.

## **CLOSED SESSION**

A motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Kanumury) to enter closed session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Laporta, Reddy, Boyle, Diemer, Jameel, Kanumury, MacKenzie, Matzner, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Ray, Rodriguez, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:51 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of closed minutes from the Complaint Committee meeting held on February 15, 2023 and 40 complaints.

#### **RETURN TO OPEN SESSION**

A motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Moellering) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 8:06 a.m.

## **RECOMMENDATIONS**

Mr. Robertson reported that Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Approve closed minutes from February 15, 2023 Complaint Committee meeting, Close 26 complaints - 8 with a letter of concern and Refer 14 complaints for prosecution.

A motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Laporta) to accept the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. Roll call vote - Yes: Laporta, Reddy, Boyle, Diemer, Jameel, Kanumury, MacKenzie, Matzner, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Ray, Rodriguez, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None. The motion passed.

### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Moellering/Reddy) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:08 a.m.