Division of Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor

MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary

CECILIA ABUNDIS Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an open meeting at 7:41 am on Wednesday, May 17, 2023, at the Department's Chicago office in CMS Conference room 4S. Springfield on the 4th Floor of 555 W. Monroe in Chicago, Illinois, and the Department's Springfield office in Conference room 258 on the 2nd Floor of 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, Illinois. Both locations were connected by WebEx video conferencing.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Maria Laporta, M.D., Board Chair Sreenivas Reddy, M.D., Vice Chair Thomas Boyle, D.O., Member Mary Huffman, D.C., Member Mohammed Jameel, M.D., Member Ratna Kanumury, PA-C, Member James MacKenzie, D.O., Member Douglas Matzner, D.C., Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, M.D., Member Dana Ray, M.D., Member (Springfield) Pedro Rodriguez, Member

The members present constituted a quorum.

Caroline Moellering, Public Member attended the meeting via WebEx.

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Shami Goyal, M.D., Chief Medical Coordinator Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Lauren Craig, J.D., Associate General Counsel Ronald Almiron, J.D., Assistant General Counsel Frank Lamas, J.D., Chief of General Prosecutions Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations (Springfield) Todd Robertson, Board Liaison (Springfield)

The following Department staff attending the meeting via WebEx:

John Zander, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Robert Mosley, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Joseph Fojtik, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Theodore Adams, J.D. Chief of Investigations Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison Theodore Adams, J.D., Chief of Investigations

OPEN MINUTES

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Reddy) to approve the open session minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting on May 3, 2023. The motion passed unanimously.

CLOSED SESSION

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Reddy) to enter closed session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Laporta, Reddy, Boyle, Huffman, Jameel, Kanumury, MacKenzie, Matzner, Nierzwicki, Ray, Rodriguez, Goyal, Lamas, Marion; No: None. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:45 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of closed minutes from the Complaint Committee meeting held on May 3, 2023, and 23 complaints and 18 mandatory reports.

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Reddy) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 8:20 a.m.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Mr. Robertson reported that Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Approve closed minutes from May 3, 2023 Complaint Committee meeting, Close 9 complaints - 4 with a letter of concern, Refer 14 complaints for prosecution, Close 10 mandatory reports - 3 with a letter of concern, Refer 8 mandatory reports for prosecution.

A motion was made and seconded (Jameel/Matzner) to accept the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Matzner) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:22 a.m.