



Division of Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary CECILIA ABUNDIS Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an open meeting at **7:34 am on Wednesday, July 5, 2023,** at the Department's Chicago office in CMS Conference room 10N Rockford on the 10th Floor of 555 W. Monroe in Chicago, Illinois, and the Department's Springfield office in Conference room 258 on the 2nd Floor of 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, Illinois. Both locations were connected by WebEx video conferencing.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Maria Laporta, M.D., Board Chair Sreenivas Reddy, M.D., Vice Chair Thomas A. Boyle, D.O., Member Donald Diemer, DHSc, PA-C, Member Mohammed Jameel, M.D., Member Ratna Kanumury, PA-C, Member James MacKenzie, D.O., Member Douglas Matzner, D.C., Member Caroline Moellering, Public Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, M.D., Member

The members physically present constituted a quorum.

The following board members attended the meeting via WebEx:

Mary Huffman, D.C., Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, M.D., Member

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Shami Goyal, M.D., Chief Medical Coordinator Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Lauren Craig, J.D., Associate General Counsel Brandon Thom, J.D., Chief of Medical Prosecutions Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations (Springfield) Todd Robertson, Board Liaison (Springfield)

The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

John Zander, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Joseph Fojtik, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Robert Mosley, M.D., Deputy Medical Coordinator Theodore Adams, J.D. Chief of Investigations

OPEN MINUTES

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Reddy) to approve the open session minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting on June 21, 2023. The motion passed unanimously.

CLOSED SESSION

A motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Matzner) to enter closed session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Laporta, Reddy, Boyle, Diemer, Huffman, Jameel, Kanumury, MacKenzie, Matzner, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:36 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of closed minutes from the Complaint Committee meeting held on June 21, 2023, 22 complaints, and 18 mandatory reports.

RETURN TO OPEN SESSION

A motion was made and seconded (Moellering/Reddy) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 8:16 a.m.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Mr. Robertson reported that Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Approve closed minutes from the June 21, 2023 Complaint Committee meeting, Close 13 complaints - 5 with a letter of concern, Refer 9 complaints for prosecution, Close 13 mandatory reports - 4 with a letter of concern, and Refer 5 mandatory reports for prosecution.

A motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Matzner) to accept the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Moellering) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:18 a.m.