



Division of Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary SARAH SNOW Acting Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an open meeting at 7:35 a.m. on Wednesday, October 4, 2023, in Conference Room 10N Champaign in the Department's Chicago office located at 555 W. Monroe Street in Chicago, Illinois, and in Conference Room 258 in the Department's Springfield office located at 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, Illinois. Both locations were connected by WebEx video conferencing.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Maria Laporta, MD, Board Chair Sreenivas Reddy, MD, Board Vice-Chair Mary Huffman, DC, Member Ratna Kanumury, PA-C, Member James MacKenzie, DO, Member Douglas Matzner, DC, Member Caroline Moellering, Public Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki MD, Member Dana Ray, MD, Member

The members physically present constituted a quorum.

The following board members attended the meeting via WebEx:

Thomas Boyle, DO, Member Donald Diemer, DHSc, PA-C, Member

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Shami Goyal, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Lauren Craig, JD, Associate General Counsel Brandon Thom, JD, Chief of Medical Prosecutions Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Todd Robertson, Board Liaison

The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

Theodore Adams, JD, Chief of Statewide Investigations John Zander, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Robert Mosley, MD Deputy Medical Coordinator Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison

Open Minutes

A motion was made/seconded (Laporta/Reddy) to approve the open session minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting on September 20, 2023. The motion passed by majority vote -Yes: Reddy, Boyle, Diemer, Huffman, Kanumury, MacKenzie, Matzner, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Ray, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None; Abstain: Laporta.

Closed Session

A motion was made/seconded (Matzner/Huffman) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Laporta, Reddy, Boyle, Diemer, Huffman, Kanumury, Lohia, MacKenzie, Matzner, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Ray, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:37 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of closed minutes, 40 complaints, and 1 mandatory report.

Return to Open Session

A motion was made and seconded (Moellering/Matzner) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 8:03 a.m.

Recommendations

Mr. Robertson reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Approve closed session minutes for the Complaint Committee meetings on September 20, 2023, Close 28 complaints - 4 with a letter of concern, Refer 12 complaints to prosecutions for review, and Refer 1 mandatory report to prosecutions for review.

A motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Kanumury) to accept the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Kanumury) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:04 a.m.