idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary

CAMILE LINDSAY
Acting Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an open meeting at 7:34 a.m. on Wednesday, November 1, 2023, in Conference Room 10N Rockford in the Department's office located at 555 W. Monroe Street in Chicago, Illinois, and in Conference Room 258 in the Department's office located at 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, Illinois. Both locations were connected by video conferencing. The meeting was accessible for guests to attend remotely via WebEx.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Sreenivas Reddy, MD, Board Vice-Chair Thomas Boyle, DO, Member Mary Huffman, DC, Member Mohammed Jameel, MD, Member Radhika Lohia, JD, Public Member James MacKenzie, DO, Member Douglas Matzner, DC, Member Caroline Moellering, Public Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, MD, Member Dana Ray, MD, Member

The members who were physically present constituted a guorum.

The following board members attended the meeting via WebEx:

Donald Diemer, DHSc, PA-C, Member Alicia Rauh, MD, Member

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Shami Goyal, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Brandon Thom, JD, Chief of Medical Prosecutions Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Lauren Craig, JD, Associate General Counsel Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Todd Robertson, Board Liaison

The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

John Zander, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Robert Mosley, MD Deputy Medical Coordinator Ted Adams, JD, Chief of Statewide Investigations

# **Open Minutes**

A motion was made/seconded (Moellering/Matzner) to approve the open session minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting on October 18, 2023. The motion passed unanimously.

### **Closed Session**

A motion was made/seconded (Matzner/Moellering) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Reddy, Boyle, Diemer, Huffman, Jameel, Lohia, MacKenzie, Matzner, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Rauh, Ray, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:36 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of closed minutes and 33 complaints.

## **Return to Open Session**

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Boyle) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 8:18 a.m.

### Recommendations

Mr. Robertson reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Approve closed session minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting on October 18, 2023, Close 16 complaints - 2 with a letter of concern and Refer 17 complaints to prosecutions for review.

A motion was made and seconded (Jameel/Matzner) to accept the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

### Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Jameel/Moellering) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:19 a.m.