Division of Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor

MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary

CAMILE LINDSAY Acting Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an open meeting at 7:34 a.m. on Wednesday, December 20, 2023 at 555 W. Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60661 and at 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, IL 62786. Both locations were connected by video conferencing. The meeting was accessible for guests to attend remotely via WebEx.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Maria Laporta, MD, Board Chair Sreenivas Reddy, MD, Board Vice-Chair Thomas Boyle, DO, Member Mary Huffman, DC, Member Ratna Kanumury, PA-C, Member Radhika Lohia, JD, Public Member James MacKenzie, DO, Member Douglas Matzner, DC, Member Caroline Moellering, Public Member Alicia Rauh, MD, Member Dana Ray, MD, Member Pedro Rodriguez, MD, Member

The following board members attended the meeting via WebEx:

Thomas A. Boyle, DO, Member

The members who were physically present constituted a quorum.

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Shami Goyal, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Lauren Craig, JD, Associate General Counsel Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Todd Robertson, Board Liaison

The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

Brandon Thom, JD, Chief of Medical Prosecutions John Zander, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Robert Mosley, MD Deputy Medical Coordinator Theodore Adams, JD, Chief of Statewide Investigations Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison

Open Minutes

A motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Moellering) to approve the open session minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting on December 6, 2023. The motion passed by a majority vote - Yes: Laporta, Reddy, Boyle, Huffman, Kanumury, Lohia, MacKenzie, Moellering, Rauh, Ray, Rodriguez, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None; Abstain: Matzner.

Closed Session

A motion was made/seconded (Laporta/Matzner) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Laporta, Reddy, Boyle, Huffman, Kanumury, Lohia, MacKenzie, Matzner, Moellering, Rauh, Ray, Rodriguez, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:36 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of closed minutes, 22 complaints, and 13 mandatory reports.

Return to Open Session

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Reddy) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 7:53 a.m.

Recommendations

Todd Robertson, Board Liaison reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Approve closed session minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting on December 6, 2023, Close 7 complaints - 5 with a letter of concern, Refer 15 complaints to prosecutions for review, Close 10 mandatory reports, and refer 3 mandatory reports to prosecutions for review.

A motion was made and seconded (Kanumury/Matzner) to approve the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Ray) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 7:54 a.m.