Division of Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor

MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary

CAMILE LINDSAY Acting Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an open meeting at 7:34 a.m. on Wednesday, February 21, 2024 at 555 W. Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60661 and at 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, IL 62786. Both locations were connected by video conferencing. The meeting was accessible for guests to attend remotely via WebEx.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Sreenivas Reddy, MD, Board Chair Douglas Matzner, DC, Vice Chair Maria Laporta, MD, Member Donald Diemer, DHSc, PA,, Member Mary Huffman, DC, Member Mohammed Jameel, MD, Member Ratna Kanumury PA, Member Radhika Lohia, JD, Public Member James MacKenzie, DO, Member Caroline Moellering, Public Member Alicia Rauh, MD, Member Dana Ray, MD, Member Pedro Rodriguez, MD, Member

The members who were physically present constituted a quorum.

The following board members attended the meeting via WebEx:

Thomas A. Boyle, DO, Member James Brooks, Public Member Mohammed Jameel, MD, Member

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Lauren Craig, JD, Associate General Counsel Shami Goval, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Todd Robertson, Board Liaison Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant

The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

Brandon Thom, JD, Chief of Medical Prosecutions Theodore Adams, JD Chief of Medical Investigations John Zander, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Robert Mosley, MD Deputy Medical Coordinator Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison

Open Minutes

A motion was made and seconded (Kanumury/Moellering) to approve the open minutes from the January 17, 2024 Complaint Committee meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Closed Session

A motion was made/seconded (Matzner/Laporta) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Reddy, Matzner, Laporta, Boyle, Brooks, Diemer, Huffman, Jameel, Kanumury, Lohia, MacKenzie, Moellering, Rauh, Ray, Rodriguez, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:38 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of 27 complaints, 9 mandatory reports, and closed minutes from the January 17, 2024 Complaint Committee meeting.

Return to Open Session

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Laporta) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 8:18 a.m.

Recommendations

Todd Robertson, Board Liaison reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Close 16 complaints - 3 with a letter of concern, Refer 11 complaints to Medical Prosecutions for review, Close 3 mandatory reports, Refer 6 mandatory reports to Medical Prosecutions for review, and Approve the closed minutes from the January 17, 2024 Complaint Committee meeting.

A motion was made and seconded (Kanumury/Matzner) to approve the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Ray) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:20 a.m.