## Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Division of Professional Regulation Illinois State Board of Pharmacy

Minutes of Open Session				
Meeting Date:	March 12, 2024			
Locations:	Lincoln Conference Room, 4 <sup>th</sup> Floor, West 555 W Monroe			
Chicago, Illinois				
Room 376, 3rd Fl	320 W Washington St Springfield, Illinois			
WEBEX Virtual Format				
Call to Order:	10:31 a.m.			
Adjournment:	12:10 p.m.			
Board Members Participating in (	Chicago Location: Denise Scarpelli, R.Ph., Chair Tomson George, R.Ph., Vice-Chair Glen Gard, CPhT, Member Edwin Muldrow, R.Ph., Member Glen Pietrandoni, R.PH., Member Carrie Wiggins, R.Ph., Member Robert Zimmerman, Member			
Board Members Participating in Springfield Location: Richard Mazzotti, R.Ph., Member				
<b>Board members participating remotely but not counted towards quorum:</b> None				
Board Members Unavailable:	Glen Pietrandoni, R.PH., Member			
Division Staff Present:	Janel Haretoun, Office of General Counsel Robert Gerton, Board Liaison, Health Services Section Steven Smith, Director of Drug Compliance			
Guests:	Many guests called into the meeting, however due to the virtual format of the meeting, guest roll was not taken.			

TOPIC	DISCUSSION	ACTION
CALL TO ORDER	Chair Denise Scarpelli called the meeting to order at 10:31 a.m. and welcomed everyone to the Illinois State Board of Pharmacy meeting, then she took roll of the Board members participating in the meeting.	The Board welcomed new member Atenea Gazdziak to the Board.
MINUTES ACCEPTANCE	Board members reviewed the minutes of open session from the January 9, 2024 meeting.	Motion was made and seconded (George/Gard) to accept the minutes. Motion carried.
NABP	Carrie Wiggins and Tomson George are participating in IL MPJE Item Writing this week. Denise reminded everyone that the May 2024 Illinois State Board of Pharmacy meeting will be held on May 7, 2024 (the FIRST Tuesday of the month, rather than the usual second Tuesday) due to the NABP Annual meeting.	
DEPARTMENT TIME	The Department is reviewing and preparing responses to comments received during first notice of the proposed Rules.	

LEGISLATION UPDATE	Chris Crank of ICHP provided a legislation update. The Board thanked Chris.	
PUBLIC COMMENTS	The Chair opened the floor to comments or questions from guests. Some guests from Colleges of Pharmacy and NABP provided comments pertaining to the Board's previous discussion (regarding the IL MPJE). There were comments from both sides of the issue.	
MOTION TO ENTER INTO CLOSED SESSION		At 11:49 a.m. motion was made and seconded (Wiggins/Zimmerman) to enter into Closed Session for the purposes set forth in Section 2(c)(15) & 2(c)(21) of the Open Meetings Act. Scarpelli – Yes Gazdziak – Yes Gazdziak – Yes Gard – Yes Mazzotti – Yes McCann – Yes Muldrow – Yes Wiggins – Yes Zimmerman – Yes Motion carried.
MOTION TO RETURN TO OPEN SESSION		At 11:58 a.m. motion was made and seconded (Muldrow/McCann) to return to Open Session. Motion carried.

RECOMMENDATIONS	Motion was made and seconded (McCann/Patel) to reaffirm the following recommendations made in closed session:
	Dominique DOUGLAS 2023-0672 Revoke
	Nourhan MOSTAFA Approved
	Sayedeh NOORBAKHSH Approved
	Syeda RIZWAN Approved
	Maryam SHAKEEL Approved
	Tesy THANKACHAN Approved
	Accept January 9, 2024 Minutes of Closed Session
	Motion carried.
SIGNATURES	The Chair signed Findings of Fact for the above cases and Action Sheet Nos. 240094-240094 on behalf of the Board.
ADJOURNMENT	At 12:10 p.m. the meeting adjourned.