idfpr.illinois.gov

**JB PRITZKER** Governor

MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary CAMILE LINDSAY
Acting Director

**The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee** convened an **open meeting** at **7:45 a.m. on Wednesday, July 10, 2024** at 555 W. Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60661 and at 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, IL 62786. Both locations were connected by video conferencing. The meeting was accessible for guests to attend remotely via WebEx.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Sreenivas Reddy, MD, Board Chair Thomas Boyle, DO, Member Donald Diemer, PA, DHSc, Member Mohammed Jameel, MD, Member James MacKenzie, DO, Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, MD, Member Douglas Matzner, Vice Chairperson James Brooks, Public Member Mary Huffman, DC, Member Radhika Lohia, Public Member Caroline Moellering, MD, Public Member

The members physically present constituted a quorum.

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Lauren Craig, JD, Associate General Counsel Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Shami Goyal, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Todd Robertson, Board Liaison

The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

Theodore Adams, JD, Chief of Investigations Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison Brandon Thom, JD, Chief of Medical Prosecutions

### **Open Minutes**

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Boyle) to approve the minutes of the open session Complaint Committee meeting held on May 15, 2024. The motion passed by majority vote: Yes: Reddy, Boyle, Brooks, Diemer, Huffman, Jameel, Lohia, MacKenzie, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Goval, Marion, Thom; No: None; Abstain: Matzner.

A motion was made and seconded (Jameel/Matzner) to approve the minutes of the open session Complaint Committee meeting held on June 5, 2024. The motion passed by majority vote: Yes: Reddy, Boyle, Brooks, Diemer, Huffman, Jameel, Lohia, MacKenzie, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Goyal, Marion, Thom; No: None; Abstain: Matzner.

#### Closed Session

A motion was made and seconded (Jameel/Matzner) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) and Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Reddy, Matzner, Boyle, Brooks, Diemer, Huffman, Jameel, Lohia, MacKenzie, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Goyal, Marion, Thom. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:48 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of 39 complaints.

## **Return to Open Session**

A motion was made and seconded (Boyle/Matzner) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 8:22 a.m.

#### Recommendations

Mr. Robertson reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Close 29 complaints - 6 with a letter of concern, refer 10 complaints to Medical Prosecutions for review, and approve closed minutes for the Complaint Committee meetings held in closed session on May 15, 2024 and on June 5, 2024.

A motion was made and seconded (Jameel/Matzner) to approve the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

# Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Boyle/Matzner) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:26 a.m.