idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor

MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary

CAMILE LINDSAY
Acting Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an **open meeting** at **7:33 a.m. on Wednesday, July 17, 2024** at 555 W. Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60661 and at 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, IL 62786. Both locations were connected by video conferencing. The meeting was accessible for guests to attend remotely via WebEx.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Sreenivas Reddy, MD, Board Chair Donald Diemer, PA, DHSc, Member Maria Laporta, MD, Member James MacKenzie, DO, Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, MD, Member Pedro Rodriguez, MD, Member Douglas Matzner, Vice Chairperson Mary Huffman, DC, Member Radhika Lohia, Public Member Caroline Moellering, MD, Public Member Dana Ray, MD, Member

The members physically present constituted a quorum.

The following board members attended the meeting via WebEx:

Thomas Boyle, DO, Member Ratna Kanumury, Member

James Brooks, Public Member

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Lauren Craig, JD, Associate General Counsel Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Shami Goyal, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Todd Robertson, Board Liaison Brandon Thom, JD, Chief of Medical Prosecutions

The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

Theodore Adams, JD, Chief of Investigations Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Robert Mosely, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator

Open Minutes

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/MacKenzie) to approve the minutes of the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee held on June 20, 2024. The motion passed unanimously.

Closed Session

A motion was made and seconded (Lohia/Laporta) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) and Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Reddy, Matzner, Boyle, Brooks, Huffman, Kanumury, Laporta, Lohia, MacKenzie, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Ray, Rodriguez, Goyal, Marion, Thom. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:38 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of closed minutes from the June 20, 2024 Complaint Committee meeting, 10 complaints and 12 mandatory reports.

Return to Open Session

A motion was made and seconded (Laporta/Matzner) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 7:42 a.m.

Recommendations

Mr. Robertson reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Approve minutes for the Complaint Committee meeting held in closed session on June 20, 2024; close 3 complaints - 2 with a letter of concern; refer 7 complaints to Medical Prosecutions for review; close 2 mandatory reports; and refer 10 mandatory reports to Medical Prosecutions for review.

A motion was made and seconded (Laporta/Ray) to approve the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Rodriguez/Laporta) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 7:43 a.m.