



Division of Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary CAMILE LINDSAY Acting Director

The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee convened an **open meeting** at **7:33 a.m. on Wednesday, August 7, 2024** at 555 W. Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60661 and at 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, IL 62786. Both locations were connected by video conferencing. The meeting was accessible for guests to attend remotely via WebEx.

The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Sreenivas Reddy, MD, Board Chair James Brooks, Public Member Mohammed Jameel, MD, Member Caroline Moellering, Public Member Alicia Rauh, MD, Member Maria Laporta, MD, Member Mary Huffman, DC, Member James MacKenzie, DO, Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, MD, Member

The members physically present constituted a quorum.

The following board members attended the meeting via WebEx:

Douglas Matzner, Vice Chairperson Ra

Ratna Kanumury, PA, Member

The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Lauren Craig, JD, Associate General Counsel Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant Shami Goyal, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Todd Robertson, Board Liaison Brandon Thom, JD, Chief of Medical Prosecutions

The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison

Open Minutes

A motion was made and seconded (MacKenzie/Brooks) to approve the minutes of the open session meetings of the Complaint Committee held on July 10, 2024 and on July 17, 2024. The motion passed by a majority vote - Yes: Reddy, Matzner, Brooks, Huffman, Jameel, Kanumury, MacKenzie, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Goyal, Thom, Marion; No: None; Abstain: Laporta (July 10th only), Rauh (July 10th and July 17th).

Closed Session

A motion was made and seconded (Laporta/Huffman) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) and Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Reddy, Matzner, Laporta, Brooks, Huffman, Jameel, Kanumury, MacKenzie, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Rauh, Goyal, Thom, Marion. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:35 a.m.

The closed session meeting of the Complaint Committee included review of closed minutes from the June 10, 2024 and July 17, 2024 Complaint Committee meetings, and review of 43 complaints.

Return to Open Session

A motion was made and seconded (Brooks/Matzner) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 7:46 a.m.

Recommendations

Mr. Robertson reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Approve minutes for the Complaint Committee meetings held in closed session on June 10, 2024 and July 17, 2024; close 25 complaints - 10 with a letter of concern; and refer 18 complaints to Medical Prosecutions for review.

A motion was made and seconded (MacKenzie/Laporta) to approve the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Brooks/Laporta) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 7:48 a.m.