idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKER Governor MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary

CAMILE LINDSAY
Acting Director

**The Illinois State Medical Board - Complaint Committee** convened an **open meeting** at **7:32 a.m. on Wednesday, December 18, 2024** at 555 W. Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60661 and at 320 West Washington Street in Springfield, IL 62786. Both locations were connected by video conferencing. The meeting was accessible for guests to attend remotely via WebEx.

## The following board members were physically present for the meeting:

Sreenivas Reddy, MD, Board Chair Thomas Boyle, DO, Member Mary Huffman, DC, Member Maria Laporta, MD, Member Caroline Moellering, Public Member Alicia Rauh, MD, Member Douglas Matzner, DC, Member James Brooks, Public Member Ratna Kanumury, PA-C, Member James MacKenzie, DO, Member Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, MD, Member

Dana Ray, MD, Member

The board members physically present constituted a quorum.

The following board members attended the meeting via WebEx: Henry Adekola, MD, Member.

The following board members did not attend the meeting: Mohammed Jameel, MD, Member, Radhika Lohia, Public Member and Pedro Rodriguez, MD, Member.

# The following Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Shami Goyal, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Lauren Craig, JD, Associate General Counsel Todd Robertson, Board Liaison Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant

### The following Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

Brandon Thom, Chief of Medical Prosecutions Robert Mosley, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison

## **Open Minutes**

A motion was made and seconded (Laporta/Matzner) to approve the minutes for the Complaint Committee open session meetings held on November 6, 2024, November 20, 2024, and December 4, 2024. The motion passed unanimously.

#### **Closed Session**

A motion was made and seconded (Laporta/Matzner) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) and Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Reddy, Matzner, Adekola, Boyle, Brooks, Huffman, Kanumury, Laporta, MacKenzie, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Rauh, Ray, Goyal, Thom, Marion. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:34 a.m.

The closed session meeting included review of 31 complaints and 21 mandatory reports.

# **Return to Open Session**

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Boyle) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 7:56 a.m.

## Recommendations

Mr. Robertson reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Close 22 complaints - 6 with a letter of concern, refer 9 complaints to Medical Prosecutions for review, close 17 mandatory reports - 2 with a letter of concern, refer 4 complaints to Medical Prosecutions for review.

A motion was made and seconded (Laporta/Matzner) to approve the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

## Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Brooks) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 7:58 a.m.