## Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Division of Professional Regulation Illinois State Board of Pharmacy

## **Minutes of Open Session**

Meeting date: January 14, 2025

**Locations:** Springfield Conference Room, 4<sup>th</sup> Floor, South

555 W Monroe Chicago, Illinois

Room 202N, 2nd Floor 320 W Washington St Springfield, Illinois

**WEBEX Virtual Format** 

Call to order: 10:30 a.m.

**Adjournment:** 11:27 a.m.

**Board members participating in Chicago location:** 

Denise Scarpelli, R.Ph., Chair Tomson George, R.Ph., Vice-Chair Ayanna Gardner, R.Ph., Member Atenea Gazdziak, R.Ph., Member Edwin Muldrow, R.Ph., Member Robert Zimmerman, Member

**Board members participating in Springfield location:** 

Richard Mazzotti, R.Ph., Member Carrie Wiggins, R.Ph., Member

Board members participating remotely but not counted towards quorum:

Glen Pietrandoni, R.PH., Member

**Board members unavailable:** Glen Gard, CPhT

**Division staff present:** Daniel Kelber, Office of General Counsel

Robert Gerton, Board Liaison, Health Services Section

Steven Smith, Director of Drug Compliance

Guests: Many guests called into the meeting, however due to the

virtual format of the meeting, guest roll was not taken.

TOPIC	DISCUSSION	ACTION
CALL TO ORDER	Chair Denise Scarpelli called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.	
MINUTES ACCEPTANCE	Board members reviewed the minutes of open session from the November 10, 2024 meeting.	Motion was made and seconded to accept the minutes.  Motion carried.
NABP	The NABP IL MPJE 2025 Item Writing will take place March 12-14, 2025.  The NABP 2025 Annual Meeting will be in Ft. Lauderdale, FL in May 2025.	Carrie Wiggins and Ayanna Gardner will participate in the IL MPJE Item Writing.  Denise Scarpelli will be the IL Delegate, and Tomson George will be the Alternate for the Annual Meeting.
DEPARTMENT TIME	A rules draft has been circulated to industry. DPR hopes to receive input quickly to move towards first notice.	
LEGISLATION UPDATE	Garth Reynolds of IPhA provided a legislation update, looking at things happening at the Federal level and also looking ahead to the Spring 2025 session of the Illinois General Assembly.	The Board thanked Garth.
PUBLIC COMMENTS	The Chair opened the floor to comments or questions from guests.	

MOTION TO ENTER INTO CLOSED SESSION	At 11:12 a.m. motion was made and seconded to enter into Closed Session for the purposes set forth in Section 2(c)(15) & 2(c)(21) of the Open Meetings Act. Scarpelli – Yes George – Yes Gardner – Yes Gazdziak – Yes Mazzotti – Yes Muldrow – Yes Pietrandoni – Yes Wiggins – Yes Zimmerman – Yes Motion carried.
MOTION TO RETURN TO OPEN SESSION	At 11:26 a.m. motion was made and seconded to return to Open Session.  Motion carried.
RECOMMENDATIONS	Motion was made and seconded to reaffirm the following recommendations made in closed session:  LONGO, Irene Approved (TG recused)  AL MOMANI, Dania Approved  NOFAL, Hanan Approved (TG recused)  RAO, Vidhya Approved  2023-03226  MAY  Revoke (DS recused)

	2024-00103 JOHNSON Revoke  2024-07648 ANATH RR Revoke  Accept November 12, 2024 Minutes of Closed Session  Motion carried.
SIGNATURES	The Chair signed Findings of Fact for the above cases and Action Sheets No. 250006, 250007, 250008, and 250009 on behalf of the Board.
ADJOURNMENT	At 11:27 a.m. the meeting adjourned.