idfpr.illinois.gov

JB PRITZKERGovernor

MARIO TRETO, JR. Secretary

CAMILE LINDSAY
Director

The Complaint Committee of the Illinois State Medical Board **convened an open meeting** at 7:32 a.m. on Wednesday, February 5, 2025. The meeting was held in the IDFPR offices located at 555 W. Monroe Street, Chicago, IL 60661 and at 320 W. Washington Street, Springfield, IL 62786. The locations were connected by video conferencing.

A quorum of board members were physically present for the meeting:

Douglas Matzner, DC, Chair

Sreenivas Reddy, MD

Mary Huffman, DC, Member

Matha Lohia, JD, Public Member

Bartlomiej Nierzwicki, MD, Member

Thomas Boyle, DO, Vice Chair

Mary Huffman, DC, Member

Ratna Kanumury, PA-C, Member

Caroline Moellering, Public Member

Alicia Rauh MD, Member

Henry Adekola, MD, Member attended the meeting via WebEx.

James Brooks MDiv, Public Member, Maria Laporta, MD, Dana Ray, MD, Member and Pedro Rodriguez, MD, Member did not attend the meeting.

Department staff were physically present for the meeting:

Shami Goyal, MD, Chief Medical Coordinator Greg Marion, Chief of Medical Investigations Lauren McGinn, JD, Associate General Counsel Todd Robertson, Board Liaison Iris Freeman, Administrative Assistant

Department staff attended the meeting via WebEx:

Samara Cotter, JD, Deputy Director of Statewide Enforcement Theodore Adams, JD, Chief of Statewide Investigations Joseph Fojtik, MD, Deputy Medical Coordinator Jessica Pantoja, Patient Advocate Liaison

Open Minutes

A motion was made and seconded (Matzner/Reddy) to approve the open minutes from the Complaint Committee meeting on December 18, 2024. The motion passed unanimously.

Board Member Introductions

Dr. Adekola shared information about his professional background as a licensed physician.

Closed Session

A motion was made and seconded (Moellering/Boyle) to close the session pursuant to Section 2 (c)(15) and Section 2 (c)(15) of the Open Meetings Act. Roll call vote - Yes: Matzner, Boyle, Reddy,

Adekola, Huffman, Jameel, Kanumury, Lohia, Moellering, Nierzwicki, Rauh, Cotter, Goyal, Marion. The motion passed and the session closed at 7:38 a.m.

The closed session meeting included review of 36 complaints and closed minutes from the December 18, 2024 Complaint Committee meeting.

Return to Open Session

A motion was made and seconded (Jameel/Moellering) to reconvene the open session meeting of the Complaint Committee. The motion passed by a voice vote and the session opened at 8:08 a.m.

Recommendations

Mr. Robertson reported that the Complaint Committee made the following recommendations in closed session:

Close 29 complaints - 11 with a letter of concern, refer 13 complaints to Medical Prosecutions for review, and approved closed minutes from the December 18, 2024 Complaint Committee meeting.

A motion was made and seconded (Huffman/Jameel) to approve the recommendations made during the closed session meeting. The motion passed unanimously.

Adjournment

There being no further business to be brought before the Complaint Committee, a motion was made and seconded (Reddy/Matzner) to adjourn the meeting. The motion passed by a voice vote and the meeting adjourned at 8:10 a.m.