Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation Division of Professional Regulation Illinois State Board of Pharmacy

Minutes of Open Session

Meeting date: March 11, 2025

Locations: Springfield Conference Room, 4th Floor, South

555 W Monroe Chicago, Illinois

Room 202N, 2nd Floor 320 W Washington St Springfield, Illinois

WEBEX Virtual Format

Call to order: 10:30 a.m.

Adjournment: 11:14 a.m.

Board members participating in Chicago location:

Tomson George, R.Ph., Vice-Chair

Glen Gard, CPhT

Ayanna Gardner, R.Ph., Member Atenea Gazdziak, R.Ph., Member Edwin Muldrow, R.Ph., Member Carrie Wiggins, R.Ph., Member Robert Zimmerman, Member

Board members participating in Springfield location:

Richard Mazzotti, R.Ph., Member

Board members participating remotely but not counted towards quorum:

Denise Scarpelli, R.Ph., Chair

Board members unavailable: Glen Pietrandoni, R.PH., Member

Division staff present: Daniel Kelber, Office of General Counsel

Jerry R. Miller, Manager, Health Services Section

Steven Smith, Director of Drug Compliance

Guests: Many guests called into the meeting, however due to the

virtual format of the meeting, guest roll was not taken.

TOPIC	DISCUSSION	ACTION
CALL TO ORDER	Vice-Chair Tomson George called the meeting to order at 10:30 a.m.	
MINUTES ACCEPTANCE	Board members reviewed the minutes of open session from the January 14, 2025 meeting.	Motion was made and seconded to accept the minutes. Motion carried.
NABP	The NABP 2025 Annual Meeting will be in Ft. Lauderdale, FL in May 2025.	The May 2025 IL BoP meeting is moved to May 6, 2025 due to the conflict with the NABP Annual Meeting.
	The NABP IL MPJE 2025 Item Writing will take place March 12-14, 2025.	Carrie Wiggins and Ayanna Gardner will participate in the IL MPJE Item Writing.
DEPARTMENT TIME	A rules draft has been sent to the Governor's office for approval. If the Governor's office approves, the Rules will be transmitted to first notice.	
LEGISLATION UPDATE	Chris Crank of ICHP provided a legislation update.	The Board thanked Chris.
PUBLIC COMMENTS	The Chair opened the floor to comments or questions from guests.	

MOTION TO ENTER INTO CLOSED SESSION	At 10:55 a.m. motion was made and seconded to enter into Closed Session for the purposes set forth in Section 2(c)(15) & 2(c)(21) of the Open Meetings Act. Scarpelli – Yes
	George – Yes Gard – Yes Gardner – Yes Gazdziak – Yes Mazzotti – Yes Muldrow – Yes Wiggins – Yes Zimmerman – Yes Motion carried.
MOTION TO RETURN TO OPEN SESSION	At 11:09 a.m. motion was made and seconded to return to Open Session. Motion carried.
RECOMMENDATIONS	Motion was made and seconded to reaffirm the following recommendations made in closed session:
	Anthony AGYEKUM Approved (TG recused)
	Engy HANNA Approved
	Mercy ITOPA Approved (TG recused)
	2024-07634 CESARONE (TG recused, AGz recused)
	Accept January 14, 2025 Minutes of Closed Session

	Motion carried.
SIGNATURES	The Chair signed Findings of Fact for the above cases and Action Sheets No. 250051, 250052, and 250053 on behalf of the board.
ADJOURNMENT	At 11:14 a.m. the meeting adjourned.