INSTRUCTION SHEET

COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL

BEFORE COMPLETING THE APPLICATION PACKAGE, read each of the steps below in the order
that they are listed, then follow the directions for the specific type of application you are submitting. This will
aid you in accurately completing your application and thus, eliminate any delay in processing.

Step 1.  Contents of Application Package:
a. Instructions
b.  Application for Cosmetology School
c. Student’s Rights
d. Application Commitments (form SCH-AC)

Step 2.  Profession name, profession code, type of application and fees
Please refer to link www.idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/cosmo.asp for the most current version of the Illinois

Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding and Nail Technology Act of 1985 and Administrative Rules.
These requirements must be met for application to be completed.

PROFESSION NAME PROFESSION TYPE OF APPLICATION FEES
CODE
Cosmetology School/Private 013 New School $500.00
Cosmetology School/Private 013 Change of Ownership $200.00
Cosmetology School/Private 013 Change of Location $200.00
Cosmetology School/Private 013 On-Site Expansion $ 50.00
Cosmetology School/Private 013 Off-Site Expansion § 50.00
PROFESSION NAME PROFESSION TYPE OF APPLICATION FEES
CODE
Cosmetology School/Public 015 New School $500.00
Cosmetology School/Public 015 Change of Ownership $200.00
Cosmetology School/Public 015 Change of Location $200.00
Cosmetology School/Public 015 On-Site Expansion $ 50.00
Cosmetology School/Public 015 Off-Site Expansion $ 50.00

Fee payment must be in the form of'a check or money order made payable to the Illinois Department of Financial
and Professional Regulation or IDFPR. ALL FEES ARE NONREFUNDABLE.

Step 3. Mail application, supporting documents and fee payment to: Illinois Department of Financial and
Professional Regulation or IDFPR, ATTN: Division of Professional Regulation P.O. Box 7007,
Springfield, Illinois 62791.

Step 4.  If assistance is needed, direct your request to 1-(800)-560-6420, TTY: 1-(866)-325-4949.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAKING APPLICATION FOR A
NEW PRIVATE COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL

Please submit the following items:

Complete the application for a Cosmetology School.

Submit a certified financial statement indicating sufficient current finances exist to operate the school
for at least 3 months. The Division will not accept a bank statement as sufficient proof to meet this
requirement. The financial statement shall include reporting cash assets on hand and any liabilities and
shall be prepared by either a certified public accountant or a person knowledgeable about the finances
of the school. Any financial statement submitted by a person who is not a certified public accountant
must contain a signed statement certifying under penalty of perjury that the information is true and
accurate based upon inspection of the financial records of the school.

If school site is leased, submit a copy of an executed lease agreement which verifies at least a one-
year commitment to the use of the school site. The address of the school and the name of the lessor
and lessee must be in the lease agreement. If the school site is owned, submit a copy of legal
document verifying ownership.

If school is owned by a partnership, submit a signed copy of the partnership agreement which
identifies all partners and the partner who will be serving as the authorized agent of the school.

If school is owned by a corporation or LLC, submit a copy of the Articles of Incorporation or
Articles of Organization which have been filed with the Illinois Secretary of State.

If school is owned by a foreign corporation (those incorporated outside of Illinois), submit a copy of
the filed Articles of Incorporation and a copy of the filed Certificate of Authority to conduct
business in Illinois as issued by the Illinois Secretary of State.

For sole proprietorships or partnerships submit a copy of the filed Assumed Name certificate from
the county clerk’s office. For corporations or LLC’s using an Assumed Name submit a copy
of the Assumed Name which has been filed with the Illinois Secretary of State.

List the names, addresses and current status of all schools in which you have previously owned any
interest, and a declaration as to whether any of these schools were ever denied accreditation or
licensing or lost accreditation or licensing from any governmental body or accrediting agency.

An Application Commitments statement (form SCH-AC) must be signed and dated by the school's
chief managing employee and a statement must also be signed and dated by EACH owner, partner or
officer of the corporation or LLC.

Submit an 8 %2 by 11” floor plan of the proposed school in accordance with Section 1175.505 of the
Rules. The floor plan must be drawn to a scale specified on the floor plan, showing every detail of the
proposed school, including dimensions and fixtures. All areas must be labeled. Clinic areas must meet
the minimum 1,000 square feet requirement, regardless of the number of expected students.
Additional square footage will be required if offering more than the Cosmetology program.
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10.

I1.

12.

13.

14.

15.

Submit an official fire inspection from the local fire inspection authority giving approval for use of
the site as a school. Inspection must have occurred within 6 months of application.

Submit a copy of the enrollment agreement to be used by the school in accordance with 225 IL
410/3B-12 and 3B-13 of the Act, Sections 1175.510 and 1175.565 of the Rules and The Student’s Rights.

Submit an gutline of the curriculum(s) showing that it meets the requirements of Sections 1175.530
and/or 1175.535. If you want to offer the teacher program you must be approved for both the 500-
hour and 1000-hour programs. All schools are approved to offer the Refresher Courses once license is
issued but the curriculum requirements of the Rules must be met.

Submit a copy of the school's official transcript in accordance with Section 1175.520 of the Rules.
An official transcript must be submitted for each course of instruction offered. A sample of the
school seal will also need to be submitted.

New schools that wish to offer Barber, Barber Teacher, Esthetics, Esthetics Teacher, Nail Technology,
Nail Technology Teacher, Hair Braider, Hair Braiding Teacher and/or the crossover programs must
submit curriculum outlines and transcripts for E4ACH program and be included in the enrollment
agreement. The floor plan must also show that the minimum space requirements are met for each
additional program and all areas need to be clearly labeled for each specific program.

Mail application, supporting documents and appropriate fee (see Page 1, Step 2) to the Illinois
Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, ATTN: Division of Professional Regulation,
P.O. Box 7007, Springfield, Illinois 62791.

The Division will schedule an inspection of the school premises after the application, fee and all
supporting documents have been properly completed. SCHOOL OPERATIONS SHALL NOT
COMMENCE NOR SHALL THE SCHOOL IN ANY WAY SOLICIT STUDENT ENROLLMENT
UNTIL THE SCHOOL LICENSE HAS BEEN ISSUED.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAKING APPLICATION FOR A
NEW PUBLIC COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL

Please submit the following items:

Please submit items 1, 7, 8, 9, 10, 12 and 14 for a new school and documentation that you are

a public high school, community college, public university, or any other institution

operated by a governmental body or agency that conducts a cosmetology, barbering, esthetics, hair
braiding or nail technology program.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAKING APPLICATION FOR A
CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP OF A COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL
Please submit items 1-14 listed for a new school and:

A bill of sale signed by both the current and new owner(s) or an affidavit from current owner(s)
received WITHIN 5 WORKING DAYS FROM THE DATE TITLE TO THE SCHOOL IS
TRANSFERRED, the new owner must mail to the Division an affidavit stating that the contract
setting forth the conditions of the sale of the school is contingent on a license being issued to the new
owner. If this is not provided, the school must close on the date of the transfer and remain closed until
a new license is issued. If this is submitted the new owner can continue to operate the school until
their new license is issued.

A statement on where the transcripts from the current school will be maintained.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAKING
APPLICATION FOR A CHANGE OF LOCATION
OF A LICENSED COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL

Please submit items 1, 3, 8, 9 and 10 listed for a new school.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAKING
APPLICATION FOR AN ON-SITE EXPANSION
OF A LICENSED COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL

Please submit items 1, 8, 9 listed for a new school and:
L. Submit a statement from the school owner outlining the purpose of the expansion.

2. Submit a listing of any and all additional teachers who will be added to the teaching staff as a result
of the expansion.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR MAKING
APPLICATION FOR AN OFF-SITE EXPANSION
OF A LICENSED COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL

An off-site expansion is defined as a separate classroom (not for use as a clinic), not continuously joined,
located within 5 miles of the main school site that serves to provide adequate space in which to train an
overflow of students.

Please submit items 1, 2, 3, 8, 9 and 10 listed for a new school and:
L. Submit a statement from the school owner outlining the purpose of the expansion.

2. Submit a listing of any and all additional teachers who will be added to the teaching staff as a result
of the expansion.
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FOR OFFICIAL USE ONLY

COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL
APPLICATION

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Completion of this form is necessary for consideration for licensure
under 225 ILCS 410/1 et. seq. (lllinois Compiled Statutes). Disclosure of this information is
VOLUNTARY. However, failure to comply may result in this form not being processed.

The following materials are included in the Application Pack- | Carefully follow all steps outlined in the INSTRUCTIONS.
age for Registration as a Cosmetology School. In addition, note the following:

1. INSTRUCTIONS.
2. 4 page COSMETOLOGY SCHOOL APPLICATION.

3. SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS (purpose and type de-
scribed in the Instruction Sheet).

a. Type or print legibly with black ink only.

b. Application fee is not refundable.

PART I: APPLICATION CATEGORY INFORMATION

1. PROFESSION NAME/PROFESSION CODE 2. TYPE OF APPLICATION AND FEE
O Cosmetology School/Private 013 LINew School , $500.00
OChange of Ownership  $200.00
O Cosmetology School/Public 015 DChange of Location $200.00
OON-Site Expansion $ 50.00
OOff-Site Expansion $ 50.00

PART Il: OWNER INFORMATION

1. TYPE OF OWNERSHIP

[ Corporation O Sole Proprietorship O Partnership O Limited Liability Company
2. NAME OF OWNER (as per Part lll box 1)

3. ADDRESS OF OWNER (street address, city, state, Zip Code) 4. TELEPHONE NUMBER OF OWNER (include Area Code)

PART IlIl: SCHOOL INFORMATION

1. NAME OF SCHOOL (as it is to appear on license as per assumed name)

2. ADDRESS OF SCHOOL (street address, city, state, Zip Code-- 3. FEIN NUMBER OR, IF SOLE PROPRIETORSHIP, SOCIAL
P.O. Box alone is not acceptable) SECURITY NUMBER OF PROPRIETOR

4. SCHOOL TELEPHONE NUMBER (include area code)

5. EMAIL ADDRESS OF SCHOOL

6. NAME OF CHIEF MANAGING EMPLOYEE 7. THE SCHOOL PREMISES ARE
] Owned [0 Leased
8. TELEPHONE NUMBER OF CHIEF MANAGING EMPLOYEE 9. MAXIMUM NUMBER OF STUDENTS WHO WILL BE ENROLLED

IN THE SCHOOL AT ANY ONE TIME
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10. SCHOOL WILL BE OFFERING THE FOLLOWING COURSES: |:| Cosmetology |:| Cosmetology Teacher
[] Barber [] Barber Teacher [ Esthetics [ Esthetics Teacher
[] Hair Braider [] Hair Braiding Teacher 1 Nail Technology ] Nail Technology Teacher

11. MAXIMUM NUMBER OF STUDENTS WHO WILL BE ENROLLED IN SCHOOL AT ANY ONE TIME:

12. NAME AND LICENSE NUMBER OF EVERY TEACHER EMPLOYED BY THE SCHOOL:

NAME BASIC LICENSE NUMBER TEACHER LICENSE NUMBER

13. NAME, ADDRESS, AND TITLE OF OWNER--Record information for each shareholder, director, and officer of corporation, each member or manager
of limited liability company, each member of partnership, or individual owner of sole proprietorship.

NAME ADDRESS TITLE
(Street Address, City, State, ZIP Code)

14. Are school records maintained on school premises? |:| YES |:| NO  If not, provide the name and phone number of person responsible for
records and lllinois address where school records are maintained.
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15. NAME, ADDRESS, AND CURRENT STATUS OF ALL SCHOOLS IN WHICH OWNER HAS PREVIOUSLY OWNED ANY INTEREST:

SCHOOL ADDRESS
SCHOOL NAME (Street Address, City, State, ZIP Code) CURRENT STATUS

Have any of these schools ever been denied accreditation or licensing, or lost accreditation or licensing from any
governmental body or accrediting agency?  [] Yes [INo If Yes, attach a detailed explanation.

PART IV: CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP

When a licensed cosmetology school changes ownership, the new owner is required to file an affidavit with
the Division within five working days from the date the title to the school is transferred. The affidavit shall
state that the contract is contingent on a cosmetology school license being issued to the new owner.

1. NAME, ADDRESS, AND LICENSE NUMBER OF SCHOOL BEING PURCHASED:

SCHOOL ADDRESS
SCHOOL NAME (Street Address, City, State, ZIP Code) SCHOOL LICENSE NUMBER

2. SELLING OWNER'S NAME, ADDRESS AND TITLE--Record information for each shareholder, director, and officer of corporation, each member
or manager of limited liability company, each member of partnership, or individual owner of sole proprietorship.

ADDRESS

NAME (Street Address, City, State, ZIP Code)

TITLE

3. Does new owner assume responsibility for maintenance of records for students who attended school under previous owner?
[JYEs [CI NO If not, provide the name and phone number of person in charge of records, dates of records, and exact location where records
are maintained.
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PART V: CHANGE OF LOCATION

1. NAME, ADDRESS, AND LICENSE NUMBER OF CURRENT SCHOOL:

SCHOOL ADDRESS
SCHOOL NAME (Street Address, City, State, ZIP Code) SCHOOL LICENSE NUMBER

PART VI: CERTIFYING STATEMENT (Note: This application MUST be signed by the school's
chief managing employee and also by each individual owner or owners if a partnership,
or each officer and directors if a corporation or LLC.)

Under penalties of perjury, | (we) declare that | (we) have examined the application and all
supporting documentation submitted in connection therewith, and to the best of my (our) knowledge,
they are true, correct and complete.

Signature Title Date
Signature Title Date
Signature Title Date
Signature Title Date
Signature Title Date
Signature Title Date
Signature Title Date
Signature Title Date

| UNDERSTAND THAT FEES ARE NOT REFUNDABLE. My signature above authorizes the Department of Financial
and Professional Regulation to reduce the amount of this check if the amount submitted is not correct. | understand
this will be done only if the amount submitted is greater than the required fee hereunder, but in no event shall such
reduction be made in an amount greater than $50.
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10.

11.

12.

13.

STUDENT'S RIGHTS

As a STUDENT enrolled in an approved school in the State of Illinois, you have the following RIGHTS:

You have the RIGHT to a completed enrollment agreement before you sign it. This means there should be NO
blank spaces on the agreement.

If the enrollment agreement is negotiated orally in a language other than English, you have a RIGHT to receive
a copy of all disclosures written in the language in which the agreement was negotiated prior to signing the
enrollment agreement.

You have the RIGHT to receive an exact copy of the enrollment agreement which you sign.
You have the RIGHT to know the scheduled starting and calculated completion date of your course of study.

You have the RIGHT to know the total cost of the course of instruction including any charge made by the school
for tuition, books, materials, supplies, and other expenses.

You have the RIGHT to cancel your initial enrollment agreement up to midnight of the fifth business day after
you have been enrolled.

Should you use your RIGHT to cancel your initial enrollment agreement, cancellation MUST be in writing and
given to the registered agent, if any, or managing employee of the school.

You have the RIGHT to know the number of students who did not complete the course of instruction for which
they enrolled for the past calendar year as compared to the number of students who enrolled in the school during
the school's past calendar year.

You have the RIGHT to keep all hours earned during your course of study. Once hours are earned they cannot
be taken away.

You have the RIGHT to receive an official transcript upon your graduation or other permanent exit from the school
provided you have met all financial obligations set forth in your enrollment agreement.

You have a RIGHT to a refund for certain unearned tuition, fees, and other charges. The refund policy is contained
in the Illinois Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding and Nail Technology Act of 1985.

You have the RIGHT to register complaints against the school with the Department of Financial and Professional
Regulation. Direct your written complaints to either COMPLAINT INTAKE UNIT, Department of Financial
and Professional Regulation, Division of Professional Regulation, 555 West Monroe Street, Suite 500, Chicago,
Illinois 60661. You may also submit a complaint on the Department's Website at www.idfpr.illinois.gov, or call
the COMPLAINT INTAKE UNIT at (312)814-6910.

You may view the Illinois Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding and Nail Technology Act of 1985 and
the Rules for the Administration of the Act by visiting http://www.idfpr.com/profs/cosmo.asp.
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IMPORTANT NOTICE: Completion of this form
is necessary for consideration for licensure
under 225 ILCS 410/1 et. seq. (lllinois Compiled

Statutes). Disclosure of this information is APPLICATION COMMITMENTS SC H 'AC
VOLUNTARY. However, failure to comply may
result in this form not being processed.

NAME OF SCHOOL (as itis to appear on license)

ADDRESS OF SCHOOL

| (We), being the owners of

1.

(Name of School for which application is being made)

do agree to abide by the following commitments during the term of my (our) ownership and oper-
ation of the applicant school:

To conduct the school in accordance with the Barber, Cosmetology, Esthetics, Hair Braiding
and Nail Technology Act and the standards, rules and regulations from time to time established
and promulgated thereunder, and to meet the standards and requirements at least as stringent
as those required by Part H of the Federal Higher Education Act of 1965;

. To permit the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation to inspect the school or

classes thereof from time to time with or without notice; and to make available to the Depart-
ment, at any time when required to do so, information including financial information pertaining
to the activities of the school required for the administration of the Act and the standards, rules
and regulations established and promulgated thereunder;

To utilize only advertising and solicitation which is free from misrepresentation, deception,
fraud, or other misleading or unfair trade practices;

. To screen applicants to the school prior to enroliment pursuant to the requirements of the

school's regional or national accrediting agency, if any, and to maintain any and all records
of such screening. If the course of instruction is offered in a language other than English, the
screening shall also be performed in that language.

To post in a conspicuous place the statement, as developed by the Department, of student's
rights provided under this Act;

To provide each student with a signed monthly report showing the actual number of hours
earned by the student.

(Signature)

(Title)

(Date)
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