Skip to main content

PERC LICENSEES: The deadline to renew your license without a late fee has been extended to July 31, 2024. Contact our call center at 1-800-560-6420 if you have questions. You can also view our helpful guides for retrieving your user name and for help resetting your password.

Effective July 24, 2024, we request individuals seeking updates on licensure applications make virtual appointments on Wednesdays instead of visiting the Department’s Springfield office. Learn more on the IDFPR's Contact Us webpage.

Social Work Examining and Disciplinary Board

Social workers were first regulated in 1967. In 1989, the Act was rewritten to expand the definition of social work and create the licensed clinical social worker and licensed social worker categories. Social work practice means the providing of mental health services for the evaluation, treatment, and prevention of mental and emotional disorders in individuals, families and groups based on knowledge and theory of psychosocial development, behavior, psychopathology, unconscious motivation, interpersonal relationships, and environmental stress. The Board is composed of nine persons who serve in an advisory capacity and are appointed by the Secretary, consisting of six licensed clinical social workers, two licensed social workers and one public member. The Board advises the Secretary on questions involving standards of professional conduct, discipline and qualifications of candidates and licensees under the Act.

Rita Renee Armstrong, Public Member | Chicago
Philip C. Koehl IV | Hoffman Estates | Chairperson
Niki Mehta | Aurora
Lindsey Trout | Champaign
Kathryn C. Wehrmann Ph.D. | Champaign
La Tasha Roberson-Guifarro |  Madison
Felix Rodriguez LCSW, ACSW | Cook
Grisel Rodriguez-Morales MSW, LCSW | Cook
Diona Shelton MSW, LCSW | Madison
Debra Dyer-Webster | Chicago

Board Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes