Skip to main content

We’re once again taking public comments for Illinois' historic Community Reinvestment Act! Learn how you can submit your comments here.

Need to file a complaint against a professional or entity we license? Learn how to do so with the appropriate Division by going here.

Architecture Licensing Board

Architects became regulated by the State of Illinois on June 3, 1897 and was the first licensing law in the United States of America. The practice of architecture includes the offering of professional services, such as consultation, environmental analysis, feasibility studies, programming, planning, etc., in connection with the construction of any private or public building, building structure, building project or addition or alteration or restoration.

The Board is appointed by the Secretary and is composed of seven members, consisting of one public member, one architect who is a tenured member of the architectural faculty of an Illinois university accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board and six architects licensed under the Act. Each licensed member must be licensed in Illinois as an architect for at least 10 years and has had no discipline within those 10 years. The Board is charged with advising the Secretary on matters related to professional competence, conduct, and examination and licensure requirements. Additionally, the Board reviews the education, examination and experience qualifications of applicants, as well as conduct reviews of complaints submitted to the Department and make recommendations to the IDFPR enforcement personnel if the complaint warrants disciplinary actions.

Norman Lach | Murphysboro
Kimberly A. Kurtenbach | Rochester
Thomas Lawler, Public Member | Wood Dale
Steven H. Pate | Crystal Lake
Dina A. Griffin | Chicago
Michelle Gillette-Murphy | Orland Park | Vice Chairperson
E. William Reichert III | Belleville | Chairperson

Board Meeting Agendas & Minutes

Meeting Agendas

Meeting Minutes